Gigabyte Aorus Master - chipset cooler stops me using graphics card in the 16x. What are my choices?

Z-U

Z-U

Associate
***IMPORTANT UPDATE*** The opening post of this thread might lead you to believe that Gigabyte 3090 Eagle and Aorus master are not playing nice together - this is not true - they are fine. The problem came from the fact that the motherboard was an "Open Box" product that someone at the retailer had been using and clearly experimenting with. The heatsink had been removed at some point and then not correctly seated on the motherboard - hence the 3090 in the 16x slot clashing with the heat sink. It's now fixed and working great - there is NO PROBLEM with Gigabytes Aorus X570 Master and Gigabyte 3090 Eagle GPU

Hi all, I wonder if you could help.

I recently upgraded from a 1920x Threadripper to a 5800x R7 so I got an Aorus Master motherboard but sadly the chipset cooler on this board is not flat - it has a raised top on it...and now I can't install my Gigabyte 3090 in the 16x slot (top slot looking at the board). So at the moment, I have the card in the next slot down, which is only a 8x slot - I've not seen a performance penalty, but I'm wonderingf if there is an alternative chipset heatsinks or cooler for this motherboard?

I wrote to esupport at Gigabyte and they said they don't provide an alternative...which is annoying because the Mobo is Gigabyte and the Eagle 3090 is Gigabyte too - but nowhere on either product does it say that you can't install the massive GPU in the 16x slot on this motherboard.

Very frustrating.

Any advice or assitance would be very welcome.

Someone advised that I tag @GIGA-Man in this post

Last edited:

Z-U

Z-U

Associate
OP