1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 O/C Problems

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by somewhatdamaged, 21 Apr 2010.

  1. somewhatdamaged

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Aug 2007

    Posts: 536

    Hi,
    Just bought an i7 920do and adjusted some settings to overclock. The problems i that if the PC doesn't like the OC it will turn off, then back on, then back off and just loop. I have to take the video card out to reach the bios battery, remove it etc etc

    It's a real pain! What could i be doing wrong? Windows sets the vcore to 1.274 so i set it to much the same using 200x20 etc

    Is it resetting due to a lack of vcore or could it be something else?

    If i leave voltages on normal and just use 200x20 windows boots and primes fine, but it may be overvolting using 1.365

    Any help would be much appreciated as i cant put the pc back together properly until the overclock is sorted!

    my c0 seemed easier to clock!
     
  2. OLDPHART

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 Jun 2004

    Posts: 6,564

    Location: n/east-the toon

    Right for a start, when your PC is turned off, there is a CMOSS RESET SW (BUTTON) > read manual to find where it is.

    But first before you press it, turn off the PSU and unplug it, then press the POWER ON BUTTON to discharge what power is left in the MOBO.

    There are plenty of guide's on how to OC your i7 920 on the web, google is your friend. :)

    EDIT NOTE > YOU MIGHT NOT GET TO 4.0GHz with using 12GB of memory, most peep's have 6GB of ram.
     
    Last edited: 21 Apr 2010
  3. Higadeb

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Feb 2010

    Posts: 471

    Location: Bristol / Kent

    I find it makes a stabler clock if you go for BLK=192 multiplier=20 and then enable turbo boost. 1.365v is pretty high, i'd try to cut it down if possible.
    Also, check the qpi is at 1.35 and Dram isn't above 1.65
     
  4. demonfatality

    Gangster

    Joined: 15 Jul 2009

    Posts: 368

    CMOSS RESET SW (BUTTON) its bright blue light top right you cant miss it

    turn off intel boost

    blk 18 x 200 = 3.6 ghz

    cpu voltage 1.142
    ddram 1.64
    qpi 1.32

    start with that
     
  5. somewhatdamaged

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Aug 2007

    Posts: 536

    Update for you guys

    I managed to get 200x21 with HT stable on Intel Burn Test, that's also with 12GB of RAM

    I won't try and push it any more, i'm very happy with what i managed!

    Thanks for your advice and help
     
  6. demonfatality

    Gangster

    Joined: 15 Jul 2009

    Posts: 368

    what voltage
     
  7. OLDPHART

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 Jun 2004

    Posts: 6,564

    Location: n/east-the toon

    Cracking m8, what are you using to cool your CPU + TEMP'S, 4.2 at what volt's. l can run at 4.2 volts HT, etc enabled > 1.34375v but did not try to see if l could get it any lower, using a H5O + Apache's looking at these fans -

    Akasa AK-FN059 120mm Ultra Quiet Viper Cool Fan

    - High performance 12cm fan in killer VIPER yellow colour
    - S-FLOW fan blade design delivers 30% higher airflow
    - Super silent with PWM auto speed control
    - Hydro Dynamic Bearing extends fan life up to 50,000 hours
    - Dimension: 120 X 120 X 25mm
    - Fan speed: 600 -1900 RPM
    - Max airflow: 83.63 CFM (141.75 m3/h) > Apache's about 57.83CFM
    - Max static air pressure: 2.98 mm H2O
    - Noise level: 6.9 -28.9 dB(A) > Apache's 16.0dba
    - Fan life expectancy: 50,000 hours
    - Connector: 4pin PWM

    My temp's arn't bad at 4.2, hoping the above fan's will lower my temp's a bit further, but like to now what they sound like at full speed!!!!
     
    Last edited: 22 Apr 2010
  8. rjk

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Aug 2007

    Posts: 25,327

    is this one of the OcUK overclcoked bundles?

    if so then you can post in the customer support forums and a member of my team will be able to assist you with your configuration :)
     
  9. somewhatdamaged

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Aug 2007

    Posts: 536

    Vcore at 1.392, QPI at 1.38

    IBT tops out at 79 degrees, cooling using a Megahalems with 2 Scythe fans in push pull inside a Nexus Edge Full Tower Case
     
  10. demonfatality

    Gangster

    Joined: 15 Jul 2009

    Posts: 368

    that qpi seem high but the temps seem fine tho 70 would be the sweet spot for me

    200x20
    qpi 1.34
    volts cpu 1.25

    temps max core 70 68 66 64

    Prolimatech Megahalems dual fans

    ive had the i7 @4.2 but temps were to close to 80 and that is just to high for me
     
    Last edited: 22 Apr 2010
  11. BigBruiserAl

    Mobster

    Joined: 11 Sep 2008

    Posts: 3,322

    Location: Co. Durham

    QPI although above specification is fine with 12gb of ram have you been increaseing he vcore step by step to fine that the min or did you kinda set there and hope?
     
  12. somewhatdamaged

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Aug 2007

    Posts: 536

    It was blind luck more than anything, but ill play around with reducing the voltage tonight, just takes so long to test!
     
  13. somewhatdamaged

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Aug 2007

    Posts: 536

    15 hours Prime stable @ 1.34v (4.2Ghz)

    Temps maxing out at 62 degrees

    Is 4.4Ghz unrealistic?
     
    Last edited: 23 Apr 2010
  14. OLDPHART

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 Jun 2004

    Posts: 6,564

    Location: n/east-the toon

    That's good m8, but l test my overclock with LinX and Intelburn Test, making sure that threads are set to 8. Heat's the core's up a lot more, than Prime95.

    Give them ago and you will see what l mean, but read the instruction's for Intelburn Test you just need to run it for 10 > 20 minute's. But don't forget to set the No of thread's to 8 in both!!!!!

    Reset my OC too 4.2GHz gamed for over 2 hour's BC2 of course lol, Coretemp > log showed my core temp's at 58'c, 64'c 61'c 64'c.

    Reset back too 4.0GHz gamed again for about 2 hour's core temp's 55'c, 60'c, 58'c , 6O'c.

    Room temp at the time was about 20'c>21'c.

    LOL, best of luck with going for 4.3, let us know how you get on!!!!

    To get any higher than 4.2GHz and run it 24/7 you'll need water cooling set up, but 4.2GHz on air with 12GB ram is very good for a i7 920 considuring it's stock speed is 2.66GHz :).
     
  15. somewhatdamaged

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Aug 2007

    Posts: 536

    Ok i did 50 runs of IBT and was topping out at 73 degrees - no crashes (4.2ghz)

    Do you think that's enough to call my system "stable" ?
     
    Last edited: 24 Apr 2010
  16. demonfatality

    Gangster

    Joined: 15 Jul 2009

    Posts: 368

    4.2 temps 73 is bloody great........
     
  17. somewhatdamaged

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Aug 2007

    Posts: 536

    I think the case i have helps as well

    Nexus Edge Full Tower, it's very good indeed
     
  18. GJ02

    Soldato

    Joined: 30 Nov 2007

    Posts: 6,419

    Location: .

    DID YOU SORT YOUR RAM SPEED ISSUE OUT ?
     
  19. somewhatdamaged

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Aug 2007

    Posts: 536

    Unfortunately not, it still won't run any quicker than 1333mhz, OCZ claim it's my motherboard or CPu at fault but with the sheer number of people having the same problem, i think it's more likely a quality control issue at OCZ

    CPUZ tells me my memorys max bandwidth is PC3-8500F (533mhz)

    The OCZ forums are full of people with the same issue

    Mine only runs at 1200mhz anyway due to my CPU overclock so i might try and get better timings etc
     
  20. Akempster

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 Dec 2009

    Posts: 330

    Location: Birmingham

    ive recently heard an issue with reduced overclocking ability when fans are connected to the mobo instead of the PSU directly, not sure of the truth in this but wondered what your opinions where.