1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gigabyte P965 DS 4 Vdroop help

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by yfas29, 3 Jan 2008.

  1. yfas29

    Associate

    Joined: 15 Sep 2003

    Posts: 88

    Location: Leeds UK

    Hi all I'm currently in the process of overclocking my P965 DS4 and C2D E6600, but I'm having trouble getting it stable due to a huge Vdroop. I've searched the WWW for a mod that would be simple to perform but haven't had any luck.:(

    Would any of you wise folks be able to point me in the right direction.
    Cheers
     
  2. Cob

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2006

    Posts: 18,140

    Location: Antrim town

    There isn't one.

    Well there was, but it started killing boards.
     
  3. yfas29

    Associate

    Joined: 15 Sep 2003

    Posts: 88

    Location: Leeds UK

    Thats a B**er:(

    Any other ideas how I can get this thing stable? At the moment I have the Vcore set at 1.42 in bios but CPU-Z is reporting 1.39v. I have the FSB at 378*9 = 3400mhz with my 6400 ram runing at 1:1. Orthos runs without crashing or rebooting the PC but when it's running I can't use the pc and I have to manually reboot to stop it, and every now and again the sytem just reboots and resets the overclock to stock!
    Cheers.
     
    Last edited: 3 Jan 2008
  4. Wilst

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Oct 2007

    Posts: 135

    Location: Notts

    I don't mean to sound like a noob but isn't the answer to vdroop to just add more vcore in bios?
     
  5. yfas29

    Associate

    Joined: 15 Sep 2003

    Posts: 88

    Location: Leeds UK

    Probably!!

    However the amount of droop is variable dependent on load. Therefore if you raise it too much to combat the droop there will be times that the CPU has too much Vcore. I think that makes sense
     
  6. Cob

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2006

    Posts: 18,140

    Location: Antrim town

    Intel CPU's are designed with 'vdroop' in mind, bescause 'vdroop' is an intential characteristic of Intel chipsets.
     
  7. yfas29

    Associate

    Joined: 15 Sep 2003

    Posts: 88

    Location: Leeds UK

    Well that I didn't know!!! :eek:
     
  8. Cob

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2006

    Posts: 18,140

    Location: Antrim town

    Tho sadly some boards do ofcourse droop more than others.

    Have a read through FCG's post over here for the techy explanation.