Golf MKIV oil problem

Associate
hi got a 53 plate golf mk4 1.4 been running fine for the 2 years i've had it. however i duno if this is common with golfs or cars in general, but i've had to put say 4 litres of petrol in over the last 2 years.

also
last night, the indicator came up on the dash, so i checked the oil and yes it was low, so i topped it up with 1.5 litre and that took it to the maximum. however the indicator still stays on, this electrical error or something else ??

i've previously been using castrol longlife 2, what the sticker says on the engine. however yesterday i used some Total stuff. maybe its cheap ??

any ideas people ?

thanks

D

Soldato
I've only just my golf so I'm not a expert but here goes.

from the manual, you should only use Castrol SLX longlife 2 oil for toping up, anything else can reduce the time needed between service intervals. So maybe it's just telling you that it need a service due to using the wrong oil?

Castrol Longlife 2 oil is 0-30W iirc, what weight oil did you top it up with?

Associate
i have an audi a3 2.0 tdi on the same oil, and also find that it eats oil. i am putting a litre in for every 2000 miles, works out about every other week.

Apparently audi and therefore vw have recently increased there maximum oil consumption figures, it now isn't deemed unuasual uness the car is using over 1 litre per 1200 miles.

The longlife 2 isn't cheap, costs me about £12 a litre from sainsburys so hopefully reasonable. It has also now been replaced by longlife 3

Soldato
suki said:
hi got a 53 plate golf mk4 1.4 been running fine for the 2 years i've had it. however i duno if this is common with golfs or cars in general, but i've had to put say 4 litres of petrol in over the last 2 years.

D

Did not know the engine was that economical!!

My friends golf (2001 tdi) also has the same problem, and i dont think VW has said anything about it.

Associate