1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Good cheap(ish) Sat Nav

Discussion in 'Motors' started by ShortWarning, 30 Jan 2006.

  1. ShortWarning

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 May 2004

    Posts: 4,768

    Location: Middlesex

    Hey guys,

    I'm not sure if this is the right forum, sorry if its not.

    Im looking for a sat nav (Tom tom, navman, or whatever). Idealy I want to spend around £200, I know this is unlikely but if anyone has any decent suggestions for any around this price that would be great. The absolute maximum I can spend is £300.

    I don't need it to do anything flashy. However, the one thing it must do is give me the option to omit certain roads from the journey or give me the option to go via certain roads (incase of traffic etc).

    Thanks a lot.
     
  2. Scottland

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 15,243

    Location: North Wales

    "Cheap" supermarkets like KwikSave, Aldi, Lidl and Safeway have some bargains such as a PDA and GPS device for ~£130. I think they come with their own Sat Nav software, or if it's not to your taste you can buy TomTom5 for about £100 on top of that.
     
  3. Ish

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,752

    Location: West Midlands

    cheapest soloution:-

    used pda from auction sites £80-£100
    memory card £15-£20
    windscreen mount for pda £5
    bluetooth gps receiver (if pda doesn't have one built in) £40-£50
    tomtom software from a reputable retailer.

    easy all in one soloution brand new for £250 - TomTom ONE
     
  4. thebrasso

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,312

    I have a Garmin i3. They can be had for £169.99 brand new. Fair enough you don't get all the gadgets that you would with a PDA but they do the job very well. Good mapping, good size as well IMO. Scroll wheel is a bit annoying though.
     
  5. peter212693

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,679

    Location: Southport


    yes i have the Garmin i3 does the job just fine ;)
     
  6. ShortWarning

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 May 2004

    Posts: 4,768

    Location: Middlesex

    Does the Garmin i3 allow you to choose your route (to an extent)?
    Im assuming the Tom Tom one does?
     
  7. thebrasso

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,312

    By choosing your route do you mean putting way points, going via different places? You can set it to avoid motorways or things like farm tracks. But if you decide to go a different way it will re-calculate for you on the fly.

    A few weeks ago I was going to North London I was going to go M6, M42, M1 (I think thats the way) but I decided to go A50 and straight onto the M1. As soon as I was going towards the A50 it recalculated for me.
     
  8. Scottland

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 15,243

    Location: North Wales

    I've seen the Garmin i3's for 99.99 in Kwiks and Safeway
     
  9. lordrobs

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Sep 2003

    Posts: 14,819

    Location: Mulbarton, Norwich

    Agreed. These cheap units are re-branded Mitac/Medion ones and are actually quite a capable PDA aswell as good for Sat Nav.

    I use mine daily for keeping appointments on, I keep my accounts on it so I can update them as and when I need to plus I stick .avi files on there for watching during my lunch break!

    The bundled Sat-Nav software I would describe as adequate but its not as good as Tom Tom which I run on mine. No idea how much the Tom Tom software is as I managed to score a copy from work :cool:
     
  10. thebrasso

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,312

    :eek: Bugger. I paid £169.99 not long before Christmas. Oh well. I like mine anyway, it does the job. I did give it some thought and I wouldn't use a PDA.
     
  11. .Andy

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Jan 2003

    Posts: 578

    Location: Leeds, UK

    Does the garmin i3 do postcode look up?
     
  12. thebrasso

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,312

    Yes.

    You can also import points of interest. So when I was in London I was after a Shell station for Optimax and it took me there...no problem.

    Check out http://www.pocketgpsworld.co.uk/ Lots of reviews of various devices.
     
  13. Scottland

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 15,243

    Location: North Wales

    Is there anyway to add european maps to the i3, and if so, how? I might pick one up for the parents...
     
  14. theboyrob

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Dec 2003

    Posts: 1,581

    Location: Halifax , UK

    buy a second hand decent pda, and then get hold of the Tom Tom software

    Only paid £140 for my PDA from an excellent seller here, got hold of a copy of tom tom, bought a bluetooth gps receiver. So for £200 I have an excellent PDA and superb sat nav too, compared to my dads Garmin Quest its much better!
     
  15. thebrasso

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,312

    You can't add new maps, I'll have to check later but I seem to think mine has maps for France and Belgium on there.
     
  16. Dogbreath

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 16,652

    Location: Devon

    Tsk, tsk :D
     
  17. theboyrob

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Dec 2003

    Posts: 1,581

    Location: Halifax , UK


    ;)
     
  18. ShortWarning

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 May 2004

    Posts: 4,768

    Location: Middlesex

    Where abouts? The all seem to be sommersets and morrisons now. Do they have online stores?
     
  19. Scottland

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 15,243

    Location: North Wales

    No it's instore only I'm afraid. Maybe you could google it, you might find other forums talking about which stores have them etc.
     
  20. Dogbreath

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 16,652

    Location: Devon

    They aren't stocked in Safeways or Morrisons AFAIK, though there may well be some in Somerset ;)

    Somerfield is the supermarket you are looking for...