1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

good temp?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by AlanJ, 19 Jan 2006.

  1. AlanJ

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 684

    Location: Torquay

    hello just need a little advice please. Does this seem to be a good overclock? and safe temps?, as im going to give it another go.

    Many thanks Alan.

    [​IMG][/IMG]

    for those who cant see that lol. its at 50. thats at idle not sure underload. its a 2600+ athlon xp. at 12x177 - 2.064ghz
     
    Last edited: 19 Jan 2006
  2. weescott

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 Feb 2004

    Posts: 9,394

    Location: Heckling for change

    Get it to 50 load and it will be fine. The higher the clock the lower the temperature needed!
     
  3. AlanJ

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 684

    Location: Torquay

    Could some one recommend a good program to tell me the acual temp of my cpu?
     
  4. Baker

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 937

    SpeedFan, AsusProbe (not sure if this works with non-Asus mobos).
     
  5. AlanJ

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 684

    Location: Torquay

    sorry for silly questions. So if leave the stock cpu voltage and try pushing more out of the cpu therefore the temps sould stay the same? Ive been running prime95 for 45mins now and the cpu temp hasnt gone past 60 is this good?
     
  6. alexakasloth

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 13 Aug 2004

    Posts: 7,615

    Location: Sussex

    I've got speedfan and it's a pretty good program. Quite a useful load of features.
     
  7. A.N.Other

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Nov 2005

    Posts: 8,064

    Location: MK45

    If you never go past 60C loaded, there isn't a problem there. Have a look at downloading Motherboard Monitor 5 (MBM 5) and see if your mobo is supported. Great program, that can be used with things like CoolMon - google them.
     
  8. AlanJ

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 684

    Location: Torquay

    Thanks for replys! I ended up going to a local pc shop and picked up a 80mm fan/heatsink. Now running at 30 idle 41 loaded. Although my system temp is around 55? Seems high or not?
     
  9. weescott

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 Feb 2004

    Posts: 9,394

    Location: Heckling for change

    System temp can not be higher than CPU temp...not on air anyway! If you are overclocking try and keep the CPU below 50c. But if it's stable then it's fine.
     
  10. AlanJ

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 684

    Location: Torquay

    if i keep the cpu voltage the same as it is, will the temp remain the same?. becuase its stable now and i was going to push it a little furthur without touching the volts
     
  11. AlanJ

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 684

    Location: Torquay

    Ok im getting errors on prime, and super pi@ 2208 11x192 volts 1.725 and ddr volts 2.75. Temps are good tho. Anything else i could try? I just want to try and 2.2 stable out of my old 2600+ xp chip ;)
     
  12. AlanJ

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 684

    Location: Torquay

    Ok im getting errors on prime, and super pi@ 2208 11x192 volts 1.725 and ddr volts 2.75. Temps are good tho. Anything else i could try? I just want to try and 2.2 stable out of my old 2600+ xp chip ;)
     
  13. Baker

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 937

    It will still go up just not as much as with a voltage increase.