1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

graphic card?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by D.Roberts, 23 Jul 2006.

  1. D.Roberts

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Feb 2006

    Posts: 3,319

    Location: not sure

    hi all just browsing and saw this Sapphire ATI Radeon X800 GTO 256MB GDDR3 TV-Out/DVI (AGP) - Retail (GX-122-SP) for £100 is it worth the upgrade from an ati 9800pro agp?.

    cheers.

    oh and i aint upgrading till next year well fully any way just want abit more ummmpphhhhh.

    oh forgot to say will put the 9800pro in me asus t2 ae1 model will it work ok in this pc cus im worried about the power supply?.
     
    Last edited: 23 Jul 2006
  2. -|ScottFree|-

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 Jun 2005

    Posts: 2,495

    Location: On the Edge*

    for £60 more this is "WELL" worth the upgrade

    £160 is a huge band for the buck IMO
     
  3. D.Roberts

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Feb 2006

    Posts: 3,319

    Location: not sure

    yeah one prob m8 its pci express soz should have said me kit is:

    abit nf7-s 2.0
    1gig of corsair
    amd athlon mobile clocked to 2.2ghz
    and the card above
    allso a type r power supply the older none moduler type.
     
  4. wiggy

    Hitman

    Joined: 30 Jan 2004

    Posts: 770

    Location: Milton Keynes, Bucks

    For an X800 you need a 350w psu.
     
  5. D.Roberts

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Feb 2006

    Posts: 3,319

    Location: not sure

    yeah ive got 400w or so.what is the wattege of the power suplies in the asus t2 ae1 bare bone systems i got it of ocuk a little while back i may put or should i say i want to put me 9800 pro in that will it be ok?.
     
  6. wiggy

    Hitman

    Joined: 30 Jan 2004

    Posts: 770

    Location: Milton Keynes, Bucks

    You need to be careful coz you have an o/c cpu, run it at stock and you should be fine. I had a 330w generic psu with 2500xp, nf7, 1 hdd, 2 drives and two fans with a 9800pro and worked no problem. Hope this helps
     
  7. OV3RCLOCK3R

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 3 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,010

    Location: MANCHESTER

    He's using a Hiper type-r 400w psu. Should be find with the x800 :)
     
  8. D.Roberts

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Feb 2006

    Posts: 3,319

    Location: not sure

    it may be me not being clear but what im want to do is:

    if i buy a new g/c for me:
    abit nf7-s 2.0
    amd mobile clocked to 2.2ghz at 1.65v
    1 gig of corsair
    etc etc i know what ever card i buy for this set up will be ok as the power supply is fine.

    what i need to know is will me 9800pro (from the spec above) work in a asus t2 ae1 barbones as im not sure what power supply i have in it i cant see any specs.

    thanks m8.
     
  9. wiggy

    Hitman

    Joined: 30 Jan 2004

    Posts: 770

    Location: Milton Keynes, Bucks

    Course it will, sorry, saw type r and thought wtf :D