1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Graphics Mod On Farcry ?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by TaKeN, 7 Jul 2006.

  1. TaKeN

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 13,155

    Location: Shropshire

    I remember reading once that there is something you can change in farcry that makes the game look realy realy nice..

    Does anyone know what it is ?


    EDIT : Please :)
     
    Last edited: 7 Jul 2006
  2. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 19,018

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland

    If you mean turning on HDR then if i remember right you have to do this:-

    Bring up the console by pressing the ~ key.

    Type in \r_hdrrendering 7

    I think thats how you do it.
     
  3. TaKeN

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 13,155

    Location: Shropshire

    Thanks for that one, i will try it later.

    I think it was something to do with 32 or 64 bit, i realy cant remember sorry,
     
  4. PinkFloyd

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Sep 2005

    Posts: 14,305

    Location: Bradley Stoke, Bristol

    theres a big thread in the gaming section with all the details, just search "farcry" in that subforum you should fine it
     
  5. Darkwave

    Capodecina

    Joined: 25 Oct 2005

    Posts: 13,780

    HDR, or HDR + AA on X1*00 cards.
     
  6. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 19,018

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland

    64 bit one works with Windows XP 64 but alledgedly you can get it to work with a 32 bit version of windows XP. I have'nt tried it yet but have a look at this.

    Here's some more tweaks for Far Cry courtesy of Teakguides.
     
  7. TaKeN

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 13,155

    Location: Shropshire

    Thanks lads :D

    I forgot to say i have an X1900 and a AMD 3700
     
  8. Darkwave

    Capodecina

    Joined: 25 Oct 2005

    Posts: 13,780

    I used that conversion patch along with the HDR+AA patch, all worked perfectly and gave stunning image quality. There's lots of my Cry screens laying around in PC Games ~> Screenshots Thread but I can't find 'em.
     
  9. TaKeN

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 13,155

    Location: Shropshire

    Thanks, does it matter what order i install the patches / mods ?
     
  10. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 19,018

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland

    Jolly good, cheers for that Úlfhednar. I think i will give it a go and play through it all over again. :D