1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

H80i Issues

Discussion in 'Watercooling' started by TechNoob, 11 Mar 2019.

Tags:
  1. TechNoob

    Associate

    Joined: 23 Jan 2012

    Posts: 21

    Hi,



    I have a Corsair H80i issue, and before contacting Corsair, wanted to check I haven't missed anything obvious please.



    After cleaning my PC case yesterday, when I turned my PC on the CPU temperature hit 90c within a couple of minutes (so I turned it off again) - previous it would idle under 50c.



    The pump RPM stays around 2500rpm. The radiator doesn't start to get warm until I move it (it's not attached to the case - but when I stop, the temperature goes up again).



    I have double checked the connection from the pump to the power, USB & motherboard fan header (which I assume are confirmed by getting the stats below)?



    Any ideas what else could be wrong, or is this a fault please?



    Thanks.



    [​IMG]
     
  2. no idea what

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Oct 2009

    Posts: 10,868

    Location: Lincolnshire

    It does appear that the pump is working. I would try and remove the CPU block and re-seat it with some fresh thermal paste as a first step.
     
  3. TechNoob

    Associate

    Joined: 23 Jan 2012

    Posts: 21

    Thanks, I can try that. However hours before it was a normal temperature, and I haven't removed the block from the CPU.
     
  4. MikeTimbers

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,481

    Location: New Eltham, London

    Did you reset anything in the BIOS?
    Are all the fan headers connected as before?
     
  5. no idea what

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Oct 2009

    Posts: 10,868

    Location: Lincolnshire

    It does seem odd. But with the pump running and fans running all should be ok. Only other thing I can think of it might have an airlock in the pump? Perhaps try laying the PC on its side while powered on and see if it helps.
     
  6. TechNoob

    Associate

    Joined: 23 Jan 2012

    Posts: 21

    @MikeTimbers - Not originally, all stayed the same. I did try a settings reset, but that didn't fix it. All of the fans are connected (they're new fans), I have tried changing them and running in the 2nd CPU fan header - no luck either.

    @andy_mk3 - I have tried lying the radiator in all different directions. Shaking it, I can hear water, but it all sounds in the radiator end.
     
  7. Apone70

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Aug 2018

    Posts: 1,126

    have you moved the entire case around? just go into bios and pick the case up and move it around ie on its side back etc. Obviously don't shake it but it sound like you have an air lock in the heat sink
     
  8. Danny75

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 26 Aug 2013

    Posts: 8,193

    Found this odd. Slightly under 50C, if that's what you mean, is not normal when idling.

    We don't know what CPU, or which case, and the image you tried to post doesn't show (try imgur.com). Also, how did you clean it?
     
  9. TechNoob

    Associate

    Joined: 23 Jan 2012

    Posts: 21

    @Apone70 - thanks, I've tried that, but no luck either.

    @Danny75 - Sorry, here's another link: https://imgur.com/a/zGQcPIJ | Under 50c was just a comparison, it's a 5820k, idling much closer to 40c. | I cleaned it by blowing air through the radiator.
     
  10. Danny75

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 26 Aug 2013

    Posts: 8,193

    Thanks TechNoob. Does seem like an airlock, given Vcore is not flying high and pump + fans seems to be working. CPU Input Voltage (also called VCCIN on some boards) is normal too?

    Could take the H80i off in order to shake it a lot more roughly than is possible while mounted in case.
     
  11. TechNoob

    Associate

    Joined: 23 Jan 2012

    Posts: 21

    Hi @Danny75

    It's taken a strange turn. Checked the CPU voltage was normal (around 1.0) and reseated the cooler (having cleaned & reapplied thermal paste) - neither fixed the problem.

    I then noticed a stick of RAM was loose. Reseating this instantly solved the problem. Has anyone ever seen anything like this?

    Thanks for all your help.
     
    Last edited: 13 Mar 2019
  12. no idea what

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Oct 2009

    Posts: 10,868

    Location: Lincolnshire

    That is very strange! I wouldn't expect it to boot at all with RAM loose. But perhaps enough pins were connected for it to boot but also make the CPU unhappy? Who knows :p Glad you solved the problem anyway :)
     
    Last edited: 14 Mar 2019
  13. MikeTimbers

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,481

    Location: New Eltham, London

    weird!
     
  14. Danny75

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 26 Aug 2013

    Posts: 8,193

    Never heard of such a thing. Glad you found the fix though. I'd go with Andy's speculation too.