1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Had enough of lip sync problems...

Discussion in 'Home Cinema & Hi-Fi' started by Rojin, 2 Mar 2006.

  1. Rojin

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,990

    Location: Gloucester UK

    Lip sync problems when watching DVD's are driving me nuts and I have had enough of putting up with them. Currently I have a Marantz SR4200, Harmon Kardon 506 LE, Panny PWD6 with an ole Mission Cinema six pack speaker setup. Sound and vision wise I am happy with the setup, I just wish that they were both in sync!

    As I see it I have two solutions, (a) I can get a lip sync correction box or (b) an amp with audio delay. (a) Would be the cheapest option but (b) opens up another can of worms... I also have an Xbox 360, HTPC and a digital cable box to connect to the screen, a new amp with component inputs would help with this. With this in mind I have been looking at the Yamaha DSP-AX757SE as it seems well recommended. I don't really have room for extra speakers though so I wonder if this amp would be overkill (I could possibly add a centre rear speaker)...

    I haven't been keeping up to date with developments of late so I'm trying to catch up now. Is the 757 worth looking at or is there something better out there? (around the £300-400 mark...).
     
  2. Tesla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Jan 2003

    Posts: 17,410

    Location: Bristol, UK

    Is the audio played before the video or vice-versa?
     
  3. monkeyspank

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,322

    Location: cambs UK

    I really like the Denon stuff. The AVR1906 has lip-synch, 3 component inputs, 7.1 (although you don't need 8 speakers, you just set it to output to the speakers you have). £290 or maybe cheaper if you shop around.
     
  4. Rojin

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,990

    Location: Gloucester UK

    Audio is sometimes slightly before the video, doesn't happen on all DVD's but enough to annoy me...

    The Denon does look pretty good, seen it for £270 as well... hmmm... The Yamaha upscales as well, I'm not sure the Denon does?
     
  5. monkeyspank

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,322

    Location: cambs UK

    nope :/
     
  6. Goatboy

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 22 Oct 2003

    Posts: 4,023

    Location: a crappy part of London

    If you have an HTPC why are you wasting time with a far inferior dvd player? not to mention lip sync issues are far easier to resolve on an htpc
     
  7. Rojin

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,990

    Location: Gloucester UK

    Never found dvd playback from a HTPC to be any better than my existing progressive player to be honest. Also I don't have a decent soundcard in there at the moment with optical out. It's something I have been playing around with, I was going to use the xbox 360 as a front end but it's too noisy!

    edit: Going to look more into the full HTPC side of things... Doh! just realised that is does have spdif output... will have a play around with it.

    Also, how can you resolve the lip sync issues if using a htpc?
     
    Last edited: 2 Mar 2006
  8. Rojin

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,990

    Location: Gloucester UK

    I can't even get the bleeding thing to play DVD's now, powerdvd runs ok but with massive lag on the sound via spdif, I can't get media centre to play the dvd at all :(
     
  9. Goatboy

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 22 Oct 2003

    Posts: 4,023

    Location: a crappy part of London

    Ditch all that rubbish and download the trial version of Theatertek and get ffdshow as well, use ffdshow to change the resolution to match your display and let TT do it's stuff. In TT all you need to do is press [ or ] to adjust the lip sync, couldn't be easier.
     
  10. Rojin

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,990

    Location: Gloucester UK

    I did come across that when googlin' the evening away... I have got everything working fine through MCE now (problem with codecs), going to see how it goes. Think I need a quieter dvd drive though, this slot loader that I've had for yonks isn't the quietest...

    No lip sync problems so far though...
     
  11. Rojin

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,990

    Location: Gloucester UK

    I'm in a codec nightmare! Haven't hit the sweetspot where I get dvd playback and hdtv within MCE... ah the joy of Pc's...
     
  12. Rojin

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,990

    Location: Gloucester UK

    Cheers for pointing me in the direction of this, also found software for running the dvd quieter and I'm quite impressed with the results. I can't get the resize to work very well in ffdshow though, I get a lot of stutter which I haven't been able to get rid of as yet. It's running on a A64 3200+ with a gig of ram, I would've thought that would be enough? I can't get the codec balance right for everything to play within MCE as yet either, so I'm running video outside of it which isn't the end of the world.