1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Have I got this right? Venice OC...

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by gunner, 28 Mar 2006.

  1. gunner

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Nov 2005

    Posts: 304

    I have managed to get my Venice 3000 CPU at 2.65 totally stable on all tests (prime for 12 hrs etc).

    However to do this I had to use a 133 RAM divider. so my memory underclocks slightly. I am using 1T and CAL latency 2 G.Skill 3200 (2GB) ram.

    If i use a 166 divider I can't even post. If i loosen all my timings etc would it make much of a difference or should I leave well alone?

    Cheers, Gunner.
     
  2. vanandjuanunited

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,630

    Think I would be happy with that and leave it well alone.
    Well done :D
     
  3. possum

    Gangster

    Joined: 26 Oct 2005

    Posts: 103

    Location: Leeds

    :eek: wow i can only manage to get my 3000 to 2.5 thats great
     
  4. Goody_GTI

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Mar 2006

    Posts: 2,500

    Location: Nottingham

    i agree, i'd be happy with 2.65ghz and leave the ram as is!
     
  5. iraiguana

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Aug 2005

    Posts: 2,599

    yeah sounds like a good oc and would have it as is, ram timings are generally giving better results than higher clocks anyway so will be fine.
     
  6. gunner

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Nov 2005

    Posts: 304

    thanks for the replies, will leave it alone now... for a bit.
     
  7. matt1

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 May 2004

    Posts: 2,532

    Location: Nottingham

    With 2GB of RAM that's a pretty nice OC. I'm on 2.7GHz but with my GSkill LE 1GB set and I'm quite happy with 900MHz OC, may squeeze for 1GHz when I can be bothered. If you can get a little more, why not, but I think you should be very happy. :D
     
  8. Defcon5

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 6,424

    Location: Whitwood, West Yorks

    Thats amazing memory, cas 2.5 at 300mhz!

    whats the voltage for 2.65?

    And whats the stepping of the chip?
     
  9. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,098

    Location: Rutland

    Thats not a problem for the Gskill LEs, they were the best TCCD around for a good while.
     
  10. matt1

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 May 2004

    Posts: 2,532

    Location: Nottingham

    It runs at 2.7GHz on 1.5v in BIOS solid. Stepping LBBLE 0517 BPBW, quite sad how I actually know that from memory and have owned two Opterons meanwhile.

    Yeah as Dave has said, it's quite normal for LE. Paid £200 back in the day for these, they really are fantastic.
     
  11. gunner

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Nov 2005

    Posts: 304

    Hi the voltage for 2.65 is 1.52V
    RAM voltage CAS2 2.75V
    DH-E3 venice, not sure of the actual stepping! OEM cpu.
    great cheap chip!