1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HD ready graphics card

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by MichaelHo, 20 Jan 2006.

  1. MichaelHo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,237

    Location: London, UK

    Hi,
    i just done a quick search and couldnt really find anything. Just wondering if the latest graphics card were HD ready? More specifically the 7800gtx 512MB. I dont really want to spend £400 on a gfx card and not be able to use HD feature in the future.

    Thanks.
     
  2. DaZzZa

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Dec 2002

    Posts: 2,618

    Location: Peterlee

    i think all gfx cards are hd
     
  3. JaFFa

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,905

    Location: London

    hd is just a resolution setting. 720p for example is just 1280 x 720 (widescreen) .

    So any card can work at that res but its just depending on what card and game to get good performance. A 7800 though will run any game at high res very well.
     
  4. JonnyGLC

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Oct 2004

    Posts: 3,117

    Location: Manchester

    HD Ready?

    What do you mean, the video output from the card, or if the card will actually play at that resoultion?

    If it's the first, then the entire ATi X1xxx series have HD output as far as i know.
     
  5. Moeks

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 24 Feb 2003

    Posts: 8,254

    Virtually any graphics card is. Don't be taken in by the fancy naming, it's just a resolution. It might be high res for a tv or a games consol but it's nothing that computers haven't been doing for years :p ...so yea the GTX will be fine.
     
  6. MichaelHo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,237

    Location: London, UK

    haha, thanks guys. I thought HD was a totally differnt kind of output or something!
     
  7. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 18,592

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland

    The BFG 7800gt's come with a new type of output cable and connectors for HDTV but you can use them without these.
     
  8. zealot

    Hitman

    Joined: 7 Jan 2003

    Posts: 723

    Do you mean H.264 for HD/blu-ray and or HDCP compliant graphics card or just the resolution ?
     
  9. samhain

    Gangster

    Joined: 10 Aug 2004

    Posts: 214

    Although graphics cards produce HD images to a PC monitor they do not come under the HD logo due to the lack of HDMI connection or DVI with HDCP (both connections actually) as required by the studios to avoid video piracy (encryptions system).

    A video card with an inbuilt HD tuner will have both these connections, infact it's my guess that all future generations with have these inputs and outputs to enable HD on non PC displays either through broadband or HD DVD or blu Ray. They won't work unless the video cards have these connections and the proper encryptions.

    If you are desperate for HD, then wait until the generation appears (should be 2006) that will allow you to connect your PC, show HD content on all displays.
     
  10. fornowagain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 3 Nov 2004

    Posts: 9,829

    Location: UK

  11. zealot

    Hitman

    Joined: 7 Jan 2003

    Posts: 723

  12. MichaelHo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,237

    Location: London, UK

    so this HD protection only really makes a difference if you plan to watch HD movies? if you just plan to play games with ru gfx it doesnt matter whether it has this HDMI or not because PC games can already running at HD resolution?
     
  13. aardvark

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 2 Jan 2005

    Posts: 8,016

    Location: leeds

    yes its only for movies - pc's can play games at resolutions much higher than HD and have been doing so for years