1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

HD4870 & Ageia Physx card

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by ChrisLandin, 2 Jun 2010.

  1. ChrisLandin

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Jun 2009

    Posts: 2,095

    Location: Darlington

    Hello all,

    Silly questions coming up but here are the facts first. I had a HD4870 and then decided to buy a BFG Physx card off the MM cos I was sure I read somewhere that you could then get physx to work with an Ati card.

    So I gets the BFG card today and slot it into my pc, the question I have now is how do I know its working correctly? My first inclination is that its doing its job as my framerates in the phyics test in 3d mark vantage have gone from around 18 average to 30 but is this the sort of increase I would expect? Im a pure novice to this as previously I have only used nvidia cards and physx was all built in.

    Any help out there would be awesome or have I bought an item that really is going to show me much benefit?

    Ta
     
  2. AMG

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Aug 2008

    Posts: 4,702

    Location: lincs, spalding

    your best of with a Nv GPU than use the patch to remove the limitation ( as the drivers will actively seek out the AMD card)

    as far as I m aware Nv stopped those PPUs quite a while ago, I dunno if you can get it working again with that patch

    but that will only work on XP or win 7
     
  3. Greebo

    Caporegime

    Joined: 20 Jan 2005

    Posts: 39,829

    Location: Co Durham

    Not sure about a dedicated physx card but nvidias last beta driver release has no restrictions and no patch is needed.

    Best to try Fluidmark to test for physx. If it says hardware physx, it's working.

    Then check in a game with something like batman AA
     
  4. straxusii

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 May 2003

    Posts: 4,886

    You will have problems with the old aegia cards from what I've read, they arent up to the job anymore
     
    Last edited: 2 Jun 2010
  5. Monkeynut

    Soldato

    Joined: 7 Nov 2007

    Posts: 6,551

    Location: Unknown

    The Ageia PPUs are not supported in the new PhysX drivers and are paperweights pretty much.
     
  6. ChrisLandin

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Jun 2009

    Posts: 2,095

    Location: Darlington

    Hmm yea I guess you guys are right. Never mind it was just a chance to play. Will flog the Ageia card on. Im not to disapointed as it was only a cheap fix and I thought I would give it a try. Thanks for the help/advice.
     
  7. BassPwr

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Apr 2008

    Posts: 388

    Location: Kent, England, UK

    Why wouldn't they be supported anymore? surely there's enough power in them to run physx on low or medium settings at least in games? sounds like a move by nvidia to make people buy their own cards for physx use for more profits.

    If it is indeed now a paperweight with no future use (needs some further confirmation/proof), then are you going to try and sell it to some unsuspecting buyer Chris? :rolleyes:
     
  8. UKDTweak

    Soldato

    Joined: 2 Dec 2002

    Posts: 6,592

    Location: N.Ireland

    Already has it on the MM ;)
     
  9. BassPwr

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Apr 2008

    Posts: 388

    Location: Kent, England, UK

    lol, ah well - guess it's up to potential buyers to do their own research eh?
     
  10. EvilOne

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Sep 2008

    Posts: 1,592

    Nvidia added cuda to it, and banned it from working with some of the cards it was originally designed to work with lol.

    You could prob use old drivers for them, but new physx games wouldnt work.