1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HDD showing up as wrong size??

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by Kerplunk, 26 Feb 2006.

  1. Kerplunk

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 10 Jan 2006

    Posts: 9,029

    Location: Bournemouth tbh

    I have a WD 250GB SATA HDD, it shows up in the BIOS as a 250GB drive but when I partition it up it only shows up as a 130gb hd!

    I have Win XP Home SP2.

    Any Ideas? :confused:
     
  2. Septh

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 710

    Location: Southampton, UK

    Hard drives also seem to do this lol just a thing i guess
     
  3. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    To enable the rest (which will appear as a separate partition

    Right click My computer > Manage > Disk Management > Right click unpartitioned/unallocated space (black line) > Format. You'll want it to be NTFS file system.
     
  4. Kerplunk

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 10 Jan 2006

    Posts: 9,029

    Location: Bournemouth tbh

    Its not a case of re-enabling, it just isnt there to enable.
     
  5. chex

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Dec 2005

    Posts: 500

    you may not have HDDs over 137GB enalbed on your computer

    download WD diagnostics - it'll sort you out