1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HDMI and Telewest TVDrive

Discussion in 'Home Cinema & Hi-Fi' started by coneypark, 25 Feb 2006.

  1. coneypark

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Oct 2004

    Posts: 485

    Hi Guys,

    Not sure if anyone will be able to help with this or not but thought this looked like the best place to ask.

    I am getting upgraded to Telewests TVDrive box which is also HDTV ready- I know they dont have much on there in Hi def at present but was looking to get a new TV anyway.

    According to Telewest's web site:-
    What do I need to watch High Definition TV?
    To watch high definition you’ll need a HD set top box (like TVDrive) and a HD ready television with a HDMI socket. TVDrive enables you to watch high definition programmes if you have a HD ready TV.

    Now I have been looking at some LCD TV's and was really wanting to go for a 23" Widscreen model but I dont seem to be able to find any that have an HDMI socket. Have found a few that say they support HDTV through DVI.

    The two that I was thinking about are the Philips 23PF5320 23" HDTV-Ready LCD Television and the Samsung LE23R41B 23" 16:9 LCD TV.

    Was just wondering if any of you guys know of any other models or makes that I should look at. I was wanting to keep the budget to around £500.

    The only TV's I have found with HDMI sockets are all 26" models that are over my budget and a little larger than I was looking to get.

    Any advise or suggestions would be appreciated as I seem to have gotten myself completley confused about HD side of things.

    Thanks
     
  2. peahead

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Nov 2003

    Posts: 4,846

    Last edited: 25 Feb 2006
  3. peahead

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Nov 2003

    Posts: 4,846

  4. LaRZ

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Nov 2002

    Posts: 680

    Location: North London

    is there any drawback to using that adaptor ?
    or should we wait for the sockets to be available on our panels.

    /excuse hijack of post

    thanx
     
  5. peahead

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Nov 2003

    Posts: 4,846

    There is no difference in quality between the two connections its just hdmi carrys the sound and dvi doesnt im useing that exact lead from my hdmi dvd player to my lcd tvs dvi input.
     
  6. Goatboy

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 22 Oct 2003

    Posts: 4,023

    Location: a crappy part of London

    Any DVI socket with HDCP can take an HDMI connection
     
  7. coneypark

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Oct 2004

    Posts: 485

    Thanks for the suggestions guys. I like the look of the LG one. Will need to have a look around and have a think. I havent really found any good sites that have LCD TV reviews so not found any reviews of any of these TV's.
     
  8. coneypark

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Oct 2004

    Posts: 485

    Hi again guys,
    Been loking into this further and i think i have got my head round this now.

    The TVdrive has a HDMI slot on it but the LCD TV I am looking at doesn't. It does have a DVI-I socket which supports HDCP.

    So if i use the following cable HDMI to DVI-I along with L & R audio cable every thing should work fine?

    Would appreciate it if someone can have a look for me and confirm if I have got this correct or not
     
  9. peahead

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Nov 2003

    Posts: 4,846

    Yes that is correct coneypark i will also be getting tvdrive soon and will be connecting it this way.
     
  10. coneypark

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Oct 2004

    Posts: 485

    thanks for your help with this peahead. i started off thinking i knew what i was looking for and ended up totaly lost.
    know i can buy happy in the knowledge that it will all work ook.
    thanks again
     
  11. Dancake(uk)

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Jan 2006

    Posts: 41

    Location: Gloucester, England

    have a look on AVforums too. some people are reporting getting a black bar down the LHS of the screen using the DVI input. It may also be possible to use component now too where originally, the box was going to output in HDMI only.

    Im getting it installed on the 15th so ill give some feedback then. I will be using my Samsung LE32 connected via the HDMI input
     
  12. Tesla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Jan 2003

    Posts: 17,410

    Location: Bristol, UK

    You will need some additional leads to carry the sound signal if you are using the TV's speakers.
     
  13. coneypark

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Oct 2004

    Posts: 485

    I will have a look at the other forums. My install is down for 2nd March but it will just be getting used on my normal CRT at the moment so I wont be using the HDMI port so i would appreciate you posting your feedback once you get yours installed as I wont be geting my LCD for a month or two.
    Just want to make sure that if I'm getting a new Tv that i get one that works and I dont really want one as large as 26" which seems to be starting size for LCD's with a dedicated HDMI port.

    Thanks