1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

HDMI connection

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by munge, 9 May 2006.

  1. munge

    Hitman

    Joined: 31 Dec 2005

    Posts: 645

    Location: Always on the M1.....

    Have a BFG 7800GT graphics card and want to connect it to my new :D Sony Bravia HDTV. What leads/connectors do I need?

    Obviously I have a spare DVI output on my card - do I just get a DVI to HDMI convertor and get a long DVI lead (or DVI to HDMI and long HDMI lead) to plug into the TV? Or am I better off (and is there) a DVI to HDMI lead?
     
  2. Tommy B

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 23 Nov 2004

    Posts: 8,027

    Location: The Place To Be

    DVI > HDMI I would have thought.

    [​IMG]

    Use image link.
     
  3. Firegod

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 12 Sep 2003

    Posts: 8,816

    Location: Newcastle, UK

    ^ Yup Belkin to a DVI to HDMI (male) cable in 3m and 5m varieties I blieve. Can be had for under £15. :) I should know, I've bought one. :D
     
  4. King_Boru

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,356

    Location: Canada

    ah,.... might have to purchase one for my new Samsung 26" HDTV... can you get 15m ones?
     
  5. turtle3

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Jul 2005

    Posts: 1,143

    Location: snodland


    If you got the sammy LE26 same as me im afraid the dvi to hdmi doesnt work :( well tell a lie it does, but looks awfull and doesnt fit the screen,, Ive had to stick with VGA :(
     
  6. munge

    Hitman

    Joined: 31 Dec 2005

    Posts: 645

    Location: Always on the M1.....

    Cheers. For some reason didn't email me I had a reply. Have ordered one.
     
  7. Jack Bauer

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Nov 2005

    Posts: 1,675

    Location: Oxford

    A bit off topic but Im in the market for a new LCD TV and I have noticed that many of the HD ready ones have a DVI input but no HDMI. Is there a quality difference between the two or any reson why I must have a HDMI input?
     
  8. gtir666

    Gangster

    Joined: 13 Feb 2006

    Posts: 273

    Location: Newbury

    I use a dvi -> hdmi cable on my samsung 42" plasma works great for films and games 1080i. Though gives you a headache if you try and read text.

    If youve an nvidia gfx card thiers loads of settings in forceware drivers to get it to fit screen right etc.