1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HDMI out on Virgin Tivo box - getting picture on DVI-D monitor?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema & Hi-Fi' started by Mel_P, 28 May 2017.

  1. Mel_P

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Feb 2004

    Posts: 2,095

    Location: Kent

    Hello, I have a recently acquired Virgin TiVo box which I don't used directly but use a local monitor to check recording set up.

    Previously I had a non-TiVo box with a SCART output and used this via a DVD/HDD recorder / component output.

    Now that I have the TiVo box I don't need the DVD / HDD recorder but I do have an old DVI-D monitor which I can use. This works fine on a PC via DVI-D and a Raspberry pi via an HDMI lead and a HDMI - DVI-D converter.

    When I try this on the TiVo box it only partially works. I get the box-generated parts of the picture (lines, text, TV guide BUT I don't get the actual TV picture!

    Does anybody know if I can use a DVI-D monitor on a TiVo box? Thanks, Mel
     
  2. Phoenix211

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Mar 2004

    Posts: 1,937

    Would this be something to do with HDCP? although DVI should cope witht that.
     
  3. Mel_P

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Feb 2004

    Posts: 2,095

    Location: Kent

    If it was how would I overcome it?
     
  4. Phoenix211

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Mar 2004

    Posts: 1,937

    Does the monitor spec say hdcp is supported over dvi?
     
  5. jpaul

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Mar 2010

    Posts: 11,650

    you can probbaly buy a hdmi splitter <£30, that (inadvertantly) strips hdcp

    is it a virgin 4K/V6 box ? if so it would be pushing hdcp 2.2 which an older monitor may not have ?
     
  6. Mel_P

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Feb 2004

    Posts: 2,095

    Location: Kent

    Says nought! So presumably not - it's a few years old.
     
  7. Mel_P

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Feb 2004

    Posts: 2,095

    Location: Kent

    Virgin box - V6- no -just a TiV0. HDMI splitter seems a good idea - do they all strip HDCP? I suppose if I bought one down the road (Mmmmm) I could try it and take it back if still no picture?

    Thanks.
     
  8. Jamesyboyjim

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Oct 2008

    Posts: 3,136

    Location: South

    hdmi to dvi cables support hdcp so I'm not sure the issue is that, might be worth checking the monitor can display an interlaced image as those TiVo's output in 1080i rather than p and being a monitor I'm sure it only has progressive in mind but I could be wrong.

    You could rule this out but telling the TiVo to output in 720p rather than 1080i.
     
  9. Mel_P

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Feb 2004

    Posts: 2,095

    Location: Kent

    Will try that at weekend - thanks, Mel
     
  10. Entai

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 28 Feb 2004

    Posts: 73,197

    Daft question possibly, but do you have a Virgin subscription ?

    AFAIK Tivo will not display anything unless plugged into active subscribed cable connection.
     
  11. asim18

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Dec 2006

    Posts: 15,410

    This.

    If you're getting the GUI there is nothing wrong with the monitor/connection, the issue is elsewhere.

    If you're not able to tune any channels you should get Virgin to take a look, their engineer visits are free. Might just be a broken box, which they will also replace for free.

    If you don't have a subscription and viewing card I highly doubt you will be able to tune anything.

    As far as I know, even the Free-to-Air channels like BBC are encrypted on Cable.

    Back in the days of analogue cable you could plug the Coax cable directly into TVs and tune a lot of premium channels for free. ;)
     
    Last edited: 2 Jun 2017
  12. Mel_P

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Feb 2004

    Posts: 2,095

    Location: Kent

    I do have a subscription and the TiVo works on HDMI to a "proper" TV and also via SCART / composite output and can view all channels. I'm just too tight to buy another TV for a location we don't watch it much and saw a use for an old DVI-D monitor!
     
  13. Mel_P

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Feb 2004

    Posts: 2,095

    Location: Kent

     
  14. gareth170

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Jan 2007

    Posts: 14,083

    Location: .

    i know without a viewing card you can still get the basic channels such as bbc1/2, itv, channel 4/5 and afew others
     
    Last edited: 3 Jun 2017