1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Head unit install/vw golf

Discussion in 'Motors' started by Mr.T, 20 Feb 2006.

  1. Mr.T

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Nov 2004

    Posts: 798

    Hi,

    To change from factory to aftermarket radio what parts would you need? I'm a little unsure. I know you need ..

    1.headunit
    2.harness adaptor
    3.radio removal key ( though I hear you can use a paperclip)

    then after that I'm a little unsure.

    Thanks
     
  2. paradigm

    Caporegime

    Joined: 26 Aug 2003

    Posts: 36,658

    Location: Staffordshire

    Maybe an ISO adapter for the cables.

    EDIT: And a fascia surround if the golf you have doesn't use a single DIN sized radio as standard.
     
  3. unclelonghair

    Hitman

    Joined: 29 Sep 2004

    Posts: 908

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    You will need an aerial amplifier as well.
     
  4. Teledude

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Dec 2003

    Posts: 2,847

    You might need an adaptor for the aerial - I did on my A4 but bodged it with some wire cutters instead ;)
     
  5. Wossi

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Oct 2003

    Posts: 4,996

    Location: East Mids.

    What year is the Golf?

    1999 - Present you'll need a fasica adapter, wiring kit and aerial adapter

    1992 - 1999 Aerial adapter

    1984 - 1992 Nothing

    EDIT: Should say, that is typically what you'd need and the info is from the CAD vehicle selector
     
  6. Mr.T

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Nov 2004

    Posts: 798

  7. unclelonghair

    Hitman

    Joined: 29 Sep 2004

    Posts: 908

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    You'll only need a fascia adapter if you want to fit a double din head unit - the Mark IV Golf takes a standard din unit. If you have the fascia mounted single CD or 6 disc changer you will need the little cubby hole to fill the gap. I got mine for free from the dealer where I bought my car as they often have them lying around from cars where they have fitted a CD player afterwards.

    Mine is surplus to requirements now as I refitted the original head unit when I sold the car. If you need one let me know and you can have it for the postage if you can't get one anywhere else.
     
  8. Mr.T

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Nov 2004

    Posts: 798

    Thanks for the offer, but I did the same as you and got a free one from the dealer. :)
     
  9. sunky

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 2 Dec 2005

    Posts: 65

    Location: UK

    is it vw latest model car?