1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Headless Server 2016 > only 640x480 available

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by snowdog, 27 Nov 2018.

  1. snowdog

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Oct 2005

    Posts: 13,549

    Location: Netherlands

    Got a HPE Gen 10 Microserver. (Amd R7 rubbish)

    If I boot the thing without any display, the only ''supported'' resolution is 640x480. When I connect to this server with Teamviewer, I can only work in 640x480. Catalyst is useless as it doesnt'allow adding custom resolutions, and there is NO monitor.

    Yes I can RDP to it to get 1080p, that's not the point, we use Teamviewer primarily... RDP is a hassle because it's the only device we have access to and have our own 4G modem in it. I need to connect from outside(internet) to this server.
    Is there a way to FORCE a normal resolution like at least 1280x1024 or 1080p in Widnows 2016?

    I already tried this:
    https://steamcommunity.com/app/353380/discussions/0/490125737470862532/
    and this
    https://deskroll.com/blog/article.php?id=Remote_Access_to_a_Headless_System:_10_Things_to_Consider

    Or do I need to buy a VGA or Displayport ''headless ghost'' or display emulator? Or using RDP through VPN (headache...).
     
  2. WoodyUK

    Soldato

    Joined: 29 Dec 2009

    Posts: 6,512

    Headless HDMI/etc adapter to plug in should do the trick.
     
  3. snowdog

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Oct 2005

    Posts: 13,549

    Location: Netherlands

    I have 2 of them on the way (vga then, seeing this server only has VGA and DP, and DP emulators are expensive AF).

    But there is no software solution? I see it as a windows/gpu driver fail, seeing how nvidia simply allows adding custom resolutions :(.
     
  4. snowdog

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Oct 2005

    Posts: 13,549

    Location: Netherlands

    I've found a different solution, I put a 5 Ohm resistor in these 2 pins, now it thinks there is a screen connected (''generic non pnp monitor''), and I can work in 1600x1200:

    [​IMG]


    Absolutely ludicrous how there is no software solution to this though (in Windows 10 or Server 2016).
     
    Last edited: 13 Dec 2018