1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP GUYS PLEASE WTH IS GOING ON

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by bigjonnyauk, 3 Mar 2006.

  1. bigjonnyauk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 May 2004

    Posts: 2,298

    HI GUYS hope ya can help us here

    got a gigabyte kn8-sli nf4 mobo

    now my comp is on the floor hence gets dusty but has been running absolutley fine for 3 months but thought i would give it a clean tonight you know usual stuff take out ram+gfx card and pci cards and give a good dust well it looked all tip top put it back together and bugger me getting a long beep then a pause then a long beep

    looking in my mobo manuel says this is dram error but ram is in the normal slots

    the ram is geil 2x512 meg matched dual channel ram

    so i take stick b out and leave stick a in ddr slot 1 boots fine put other stick back no boot i have done all these configs below took me ages but it seems my ddr slots 2 and 4 have died

    WHAT DO YOU THINK AND CAN YA HELP

    stick a boots fine in slots 1 and 3 no boot in 2 and 4
    stick b boots fine in 1 and 3 no boot in 2 and 4

    a+b in slots 1+2 or 2+4 or 3+4 or 2+3 no boot get the beep

    but a+b in slots 1 and 3 boot but only single channel and at 170mhz not 200 shows 1 gig though


    a+b in slots 1 and 4 boot only shows single channel and also only shows 512 meg ram its like the b stick in slot 4 does not exist




    so what the hell is going on please can anyone help :confused:
     
    Last edited: 3 Mar 2006
  2. mercyless

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Sep 2004

    Posts: 1,049

    Location: london

    sorry to hear that, have you reset cmos?
     
  3. UOcUK Poopscoop

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Dec 2002

    Posts: 4,470

    Location: Kent

    It sounds like you have switched the RAM around a lot but I can't help but think the RAM isn't making good contact in the slots.

    I prefer to leave the RAM in when cleaning as you can get dust in the slots during the cleaning process.
     
  4. bigjonnyauk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 May 2004

    Posts: 2,298

    yeah one slot i can understand but not 2

    i have cleaned the slots time and time again with no joy

    i have reset cmos ,updated bios cant think of what elses i can do
     
  5. UOcUK Poopscoop

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Dec 2002

    Posts: 4,470

    Location: Kent

    How did you actually clean the mobo mate?
     
  6. bigjonnyauk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 May 2004

    Posts: 2,298

    can of the air stuff and a fine soft little brush

    it just seems funny that its channels 2 and 4 are the connected in any way is there something on mobo that controls these 2 channels could i have knoced something on mobo

    i just dont know

    i do know it cant be the ram as it bots fine in slots 1 and 3