1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP I have Blocked my own PC!

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Lee2k4, 9 Mar 2006.

  1. Lee2k4

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,524

    Location: Leeds, UK

    Right, there was something fishy going on with my wireless router, the WLAN lite was flashing and theres no computers on the network at the moment so I went into my router control panel and saw there was another PC connected with no host name. Thinking it was someone else I turned on MAC filters and blocked it out. Now realizing it was actually my PC (LOL!) I can't access the Internet through my router, it wont even let me access the router control panel, I cant access it through another PC because the other PC has died.
     
  2. Al Vallario

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,534

    Location: UK

    If you don't mind entering all your settings again, you could force a reset on the router. There should be a small button (or something along those lines) somewhere on the unit for this purpose :)
     
  3. Lee2k4

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,524

    Location: Leeds, UK


    Done, now it lets me log on to the control panel but it's reset my username and password, problem is I dont know what the default password to log onto the control panel was. The router is a Acer WLAN 11g.
     
  4. Al Vallario

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,534

    Location: UK

    username: admin
    password: password?
     
  5. Lee2k4

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,524

    Location: Leeds, UK

    Figured the admin bit out, just don't know what the original password was
     
  6. Al Vallario

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,534

    Location: UK

    Tried all the usuals: "password", "acer", leaving the password field blank etc.? You should be able to find that sort of information in the user manual if you have it :)
     
  7. St0rmer66

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Oct 2004

    Posts: 4,550

    Location: Harrogate, North Yorks

    It's on a sticker on the bottom of my Dads' Linksys wireless router..
     
  8. Al Vallario

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,534

    Location: UK

    Ah yes, looking on the bottom is always a good idea :o
     
  9. Snow-Munki

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,054

    Location: At home

  10. Lee2k4

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,524

    Location: Leeds, UK

    Tried that and it ain't working, looks like I am going to ring Acer. As for the bottom of the router it just displays the IP address. Also the router is

    Acer WLAN 11g Turbo Broadband Router wireless router

    The pictures of the router settings in the link you posted look nothing like mine so I think thats for a different router.


    ***EDIT***


    I have it sorted now, for some reason it acceppted the password this time

    Cheers
     
    Last edited: 9 Mar 2006