1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help Me Choose The Correct ADSL Router

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by SB1973, 3 Oct 2009.

  1. SB1973

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Jul 2009

    Posts: 154

    Help Me Choose The Correct ADSL Router , from the list below , i use the internet alot for downloading and serching , also playing on PS3 online gaming

    These are the routers i am looking at , trouble is some many on the market

    Netgear Rangemax DG834N
    Netgear - DGN2000
    Netgear - DGND3300
    D-Link DSL-2740R


    Your advice would be great thanks :)
     
  2. billysielu

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Aug 2009

    Posts: 11,795

    Location: Oxfordshire

    Wireless is fail, so.. DG834
     
  3. Duke

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 29 Jun 2003

    Posts: 33,594

    Location: Wiltshire

    What wireless devices are you going to use with it and over what distance?
     
  4. xb8browney

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 6,064

    Those are all really similar and since I wouldn't personally pick a netgear or D-link router I'd suggest linksys (Linksys by Cisco WAG160N-UK 300Mbps Wireless N ADSL2+ Modem/Router [WAG160N-UK]) but if you want one of those in your list I'd go with the D-Link
     
  5. xb8browney

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 6,064

    What are you talking about.
     
  6. billysielu

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Aug 2009

    Posts: 11,795

    Location: Oxfordshire

    Well if you want to do anything that required responsiveness, i.e. gaming - you wouldn't want to use wireless.
     
  7. xb8browney

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 6,064

    As it adds a mere 1ms.

    Come on it's a thing of the past.
     
  8. SB1973

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Jul 2009

    Posts: 154

    I live in a flat , Wireless devices are as follows

    Laptop x 2
    PS3 ( Bedroom )
    HP Printer
     
  9. billysielu

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Aug 2009

    Posts: 11,795

    Location: Oxfordshire

    It adds about 100ms, a ton of packetloss, and random dropouts.
     
  10. xb8browney

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 6,064

    If your not doing alot of network bandwidth then there isn't really any need for the "N" kit. Unless your thinking of future proof?
     
  11. xb8browney

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 6,064

    Utter rubbish.


    Wired

    Round-Trip: 15.163 min, 33.059 avg, 214.933 max (ms)
    Packets: 50 transmitted, 50 received, 0% lost

    Wireless
    Round-Trip: 14.027 min, 23.092 avg, 51.824 max (ms)
    Packets: 50 transmitted, 50 received, 0% lost
     
    Last edited: 3 Oct 2009
  12. SB1973

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Jul 2009

    Posts: 154

  13. xb8browney

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 6,064

  14. Duke

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 29 Jun 2003

    Posts: 33,594

    Location: Wiltshire

  15. SB1973

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Jul 2009

    Posts: 154

  16. aaron333

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Jun 2009

    Posts: 1,568

    Try getting a second hand DG834GT for around £30, There was one on MM for £15. Setup a static IP for the PS3 and put in DMZ. Put on DGTEAM firmware aswell.