1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP ME WITH MY BOOTUP TIME! pls

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Rain Man, 15 Jun 2006.

  1. Rain Man

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Jan 2005

    Posts: 976

    Location: Macclesfield

    Well my spec is as the sig says. My the drive i bootup with is a seagate 80gb sata-ii running at sata-ii speeds

    My oc'd 146 opty is 3.0ghz stable, ive got a reasonably fresh install of windows and my ram is running as follows
    [​IMG]

    My hard drive bench:
    [​IMG]

    In msconfig ive got only two things in the startup which is CTFMON and atitray.

    But it takes me 01min 07secs to boot up! Thats not including bios screen or login, thats just from when i see the windows logo to when i see the cursor!

    i swear my old p4 3.2 booted quicker! Ive run bootvis plenty of times and no improvement.

    Help!

    Thanks

    EDIT:01min 49secs from button pressed until tray icons loaded up!
     
    Last edited: 15 Jun 2006
  2. benjo

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 12,779

    Location: London

    Ok, search google for "Autoruns.exe" and download that little app, lists everything that starts during boot and allows you to google them to see what they are.

    Then download a program called "TuneXP", theres tweaks in this program that can make booting up a lot quicker, aswell as shutting down :)
     
  3. elite

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Jul 2004

    Posts: 1,237

    Location: North East, Cleveland

    im having the same problem, ill try them programs thanks
     
  4. Scott Salisbury

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,588

    Location: Newcastle, UK

    TuneXP is amazing I use it on all my installs.

    Over 1 minute boot time from the XP screen is an awfully long time and I doubt that even TuneXP would improve it that much, especially after a fresh install.

    On my system after a fresh install after the windows updates and Sp2 the xp screen flashes up for about 3 seconds then I see my desktop and that's before I used TuneXP.

    Do you have any extra stuff plugged in? Printers, hard drives cd drives etc? That could be dodgey or old?

    I just bought myself a new 150GB Raptor (as my 74GB was too noisey) and put a fresh install of windows on and it was perfect. When I had it up and running I put my 74GB hard drive in as a slave to get backups of my documents etc and the boot time suddenly took much longer from the XP screen. I actually thought it had frozen but it eventually loaded. When I took the drive out it was back to normal again.

    What I suggest is take EVERYTHING out of your PC that isn't needed to start up and just have the absolute minimum plugged in. So try booting it up with just your boot hard drive, no cd drives, no floppys, no pci cards, webcams or printers etc.

    If it improves then try and work out what the problem is from there.

    Hope you get it sorted,
    Scott.
     
  5. Stelly

    Don

    Joined: 5 Oct 2005

    Posts: 11,043

    Location: Liverpool

    TuneXp is pretty good for things like that :)

    Stelly
     
  6. ErNciLator

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,040

    yer, id make sure nothing is freezing on boot - like failing net connection, or other time consuming IO's it must wait for. Remove any devices nt needed and boot, see if time different - try without net cable plugged in etc.
     
  7. Rain Man

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Jan 2005

    Posts: 976

    Location: Macclesfield

    like i said ive only got atitray and ctfmon in boot and just run bootvis, defragged boot files and clicked a few tweaks. now does a fullboot in 1:43. still like nearly 2mins

    my mates p4 [email protected] 3.8 skt.478 with 2gb (1 x 1gb, 2 x 512mb) none dual channel boots in like 35secs. and hes got more stuff in start up and using and old IDE drive

    is it something to do with A64's? i get 29secs PI score fgs lol
     
    Last edited: 15 Jun 2006
  8. Meatball

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 6,299

    Location: St Albans

    Ohh I just got my boot time to 25secs (From XP logo to log on screen) Sorry for hijacking :D
     
  9. Scott Salisbury

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,588

    Location: Newcastle, UK

    Kick the man when he's down why don't ya? :p


    Nope, read my sig and read my post above :)
     
  10. Meatball

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 6,299

    Location: St Albans

    I didn't mean to :rolleyes: . Have you tried updating your BIOS? Might make a difference :)
     
  11. Psypher5

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 11 Jan 2005

    Posts: 9,975

    Location: Birmingham

    just downloaded this app, and OMG it scares me. :/

    Just enable.disable, doesnt give any info about stuff or what it does?


    Also, if i click randoms will anything majorly eff up my pc :) ?


    f1 is a great key.


    Ok just used it, getting a 27second boot (from bios splashscreen before post to xfire logged in) and an under 10 second shutdown :) Nice app.
     
    Last edited: 15 Jun 2006
  12. Rain Man

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Jan 2005

    Posts: 976

    Location: Macclesfield

    ive got no pci card or anything. Just my graphics card and another sata drive

    what should i and shouldnt i click in tune xp?
     
  13. Scott Salisbury

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,588

    Location: Newcastle, UK

    Read the help file it tells you exactly what each feature does and who is it's meant for.
     
  14. Rain Man

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Jan 2005

    Posts: 976

    Location: Macclesfield

    just done so, ill post back in a min with my full start up time
     
  15. Rain Man

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Jan 2005

    Posts: 976

    Location: Macclesfield

    Did every twak and it improved by 1sec lol this is pointless
     
  16. utherpendragon

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 May 2006

    Posts: 508

    Even though it is a nearly new install, you really should try a reinstall. if that doesn't help it points to a hardware failiure.
     
  17. Rain Man

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Jan 2005

    Posts: 976

    Location: Macclesfield

    thing is ive always had a slow bootup time since i went from my dual core to my opteron. like i said my superpi score is 29secs and my game load times are amazing.

    i might just give up
     
  18. Psypher5

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 11 Jan 2005

    Posts: 9,975

    Location: Birmingham

    Go and make a cuppa while it boots :) If everything else is fine and fast.
     
  19. Mr Men

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 5 May 2006

    Posts: 9,191

    Location: PSN

    just never turn it off :)
     
  20. kidloco

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Nov 2003

    Posts: 4,933

    Location: Lancashire

    What version of XP is it. my old install of XP PRO was really quick to boot. SInce to to Media Centre Edition it takes a fair old while, worth it for all the extra capabilities it gives my 360