1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help needed sussing out strange score and clock speed 3dmark05

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Zephyrus, 28 Jan 2006.

  1. Zephyrus

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Oct 2005

    Posts: 518

    Location: Scotland

    Right... I decided to download 3dmark05 onto the Mrs comp outta curiosity.
    Specs...
    P4 3.0Ghz @stock
    Geforce 6600LE 'supposedly' @ stock
    Gigabyte GA-8I848PM Motherboard
    1Gig memory (512+512)

    Score : 1575

    According to 3dmark05 the card is clocked to 9.7/501.2 :eek:

    Surely this cannot be correct :confused:

    What OC tools are available for this card so i can see if it really is set at this and hopefully correct it?

    Cheers,
    Zeph.
     
  2. Zephyrus

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Oct 2005

    Posts: 518

    Location: Scotland

  3. Zephyrus

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Oct 2005

    Posts: 518

    Location: Scotland

    Hmm strange... Rivatuner is detecting the clock speeds at 300/250(500 effective).

    Any reasons why 3dmark05 would think its at 9/501?

    Zeph.
     
  4. Insanity

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,747

    Location: Tasmania (Australia)

    It has a bug, it does it to me too... i think it says my core is running at 10mhz or something stupid.
     
  5. Zephyrus

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Oct 2005

    Posts: 518

    Location: Scotland

    It's my old card that she has in her system, i dont think it ever did that with me on my old celeron system when i used 3dmark. Oh well at least i know her core isn't running at 9Mhz :eek:

    Still... its a very very low score.

    Zeph.
     
  6. Raikiri

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,323

    Location: Brighton

    6600LE isnt a very fast card, so the score is about right (maybe a tad low) changing the drivers to performance should give it a few extra points too.

    As for the clocks, the core is wrong as it is on many cards. Just a fault in 3dmark. But the memory is right, clocks will often vary by 1 or 2mhz so reading as 501 is fine.

    As for making it faster, these cards are supposed to be pretty good clockers, but only do it if you need to not for a better score :p
     
  7. Zephyrus

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Oct 2005

    Posts: 518

    Location: Scotland

    Nah i wouldnt bother overclocking it at all, the Missus only plays things like lineage II and Everquest.
    It was just out of curiosity that i ran 3dmark05 and got a bit of a shock when i saw the 9Mhz!

    Would you say the score above is about normal for her system? For some reason i can only get the site to compare it to itself :confused:

    Zeph.
     
  8. Raikiri

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,323

    Location: Brighton

    Seems about right really, like i said maybe 100-200 points low. But then it is a p4 system which arent the greatest for games applications and it was probably set to quality in the drivers.
    The 6600LE is a bit faster than the 6200, when i had one ages ago with a 3ghz p4 (very similar system really) i scored 1400 stock and 2000 overclocked.
     
  9. Zephyrus

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Oct 2005

    Posts: 518

    Location: Scotland

    Cheers again Raikiri. You've always been helpful on here :)

    Zeph.
     
  10. Sir Random

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Aug 2003

    Posts: 2,636

    Location: Wicklow, Ireland

    Click on "Project Search and Compare" (2nd link from the top, in the left-hand column). Then, select "6600LE" in the "Graphics Chipset" dropdown list and then click on the "Show Me The Projects!" button.
    That should give you a list of all 6600LE scores.
    Select "P4 3.0Ghz" as the cpu, to see only systems similar to your sister's.

    EDIT:
    I just tried that search, and only found ONE entry
    Clocks listed as: GeForce 6600 LE, 11 MHz / 501 MHz (score: 801)
     
    Last edited: 28 Jan 2006
  11. Raikiri

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,323

    Location: Brighton

    Sir Random... 3dmark 05 (i think you done 06)

    Edit: piccy

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 28 Jan 2006
  12. Zephyrus

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Oct 2005

    Posts: 518

    Location: Scotland

    Ah cheers, it came up with a system pretty much the same cept with a 2.7Ghz cpu it had a score 20 points lower than this one 1551.

    Zeph.
     
  13. Zephyrus

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Oct 2005

    Posts: 518

    Location: Scotland

    For some reason her CPU was under clocked to 100Mhz, dunno if she's been tinkering or not. I put it back to 200Mhz and it now gets a score of 1675.