1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help needed to Network Printer

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by JaseUK, 21 Jul 2006.

  1. JaseUK

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Jun 2006

    Posts: 1,976

    Location: W. Yorks

    Hi guys,
    What I am trying to do is network my printer. My current printer a Lexmark P6250 has no network card etc..... so I have to connect it via USB to my main rig. This PC needs to be switched on so my other networked computers can print from it.
    Am I doing something wrong here or do I require a new printer to do what I want to do?
    Hope this makes sense
    Some help please
    Cheers!!!!!!!!!
    JaseUK
     
  2. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    You mean you want to connect it directly to the network?

    You need either a new printer that'll do it, or some kind of print server (HP JetDirect etc).
     
  3. JaseUK

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Jun 2006

    Posts: 1,976

    Location: W. Yorks

    Yeah I want to connect it to my network either wirelessly or by ethernet.
    I cant be forever turning my PC on just so other connected PC's can print.
    You got any good printers in mind, I need photocopy, scan capabilities also
    Thankyou
     
  4. hp7909

    Soldato

    Joined: 8 Jun 2003

    Posts: 5,016

    Won't this (try here if link doesn't work) do?
     
    Last edited: 21 Jul 2006
  5. OllyM

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Aug 2004

    Posts: 6,220

    Location: New Jersey, USA

    There are very few network printers with scan/copy functions.

    I've got a Brother MFC-7820N though, which does all of this, and connects directly to the network... it works pretty well, but it's laser (not very useful if you need colour) and isn't that cheap.
     
  6. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    It's a print server, so yes. :p
     
  7. hp7909

    Soldato

    Joined: 8 Jun 2003

    Posts: 5,016

    Sorry, won't work or will work? Its got a USB port :confused: :)
     
  8. JaseUK

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Jun 2006

    Posts: 1,976

    Location: W. Yorks

    So let me get it right,
    These print servers plug into yer printer via USB 1.1 or 2.0 and then plug into is it your PC or Router/Hub via RJ45 ethernet.
     
  9. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    Would expect it will work, if the printer's USB.

    Is what I was getting at.
     
  10. JaseUK

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Jun 2006

    Posts: 1,976

    Location: W. Yorks

    Last edited: 21 Jul 2006