1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help or suggestion

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by pl., 31 May 2006.

  1. pl.

    Associate

    Joined: 17 May 2006

    Posts: 34

    ello, this my first post so i hope i posted it in the right place :D

    i started to load up most of my games on my new pc

    well some games seems to freeze then work freeze then work etc and some doesnt.
    cod2 works great bt hl2 or c&c zerohour doesnt work fine (some others) :confused:

    so if u got any idea plz post away,thx


    Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe / amd athlon x2 / x1900 xtx / GeIL 2gb / hiper type r 580w
     
  2. kmistry

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,089

    Location: Leicester

    Welcome to the forums :D

    Have u tried updating gfx card drivers? or using the ones that came with the cd? possibly installing the dual core patch for some of these games (if available) might help. Check the monitor connections, check all the cables in the mobo, etc.....

    these are all just suggestions, wait for others to post as well :D
     
  3. pl.

    Associate

    Joined: 17 May 2006

    Posts: 34

    kk thx for the reply.

    all of my drivers etc r u updated bt it kind of the old games which do bt dnt work :confused: so it might be that..
     
  4. Foehammer2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2006

    Posts: 981

    Location: Arms reach from mouse

    possibly incompatible with a dual core, you installed the AMD patch?
     
  5. Foehammer2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2006

    Posts: 981

    Location: Arms reach from mouse

    ah ha! just thought try setting the affinity to just one core instead of the game trying to run on both, its a method of getting non compliant games to run with the dual core

    CRTL,ALT & DEL - Processes tab, pick your game process, right click it - set affinity and tick only one cpu box (this only affects that game, and only that time that its run, so you will need to do it each time you play)
     
  6. luminous

    Gangster

    Joined: 10 Apr 2006

    Posts: 394

    Location: Edinburgh

    Out of interest,how much of a performance hit is running just one core?
     
  7. pl.

    Associate

    Joined: 17 May 2006

    Posts: 34

    the amd patch for the game?
     
  8. Foehammer2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2006

    Posts: 981

    Location: Arms reach from mouse

    Last edited: 31 May 2006
  9. Foehammer2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2006

    Posts: 981

    Location: Arms reach from mouse

    Well its difficult for me to tell really, but i'd say little to none. Once i set all my apps and windows processes to core 0 and then have just a game running on core 1 then it has a whole 2.4Ghz unshared (2.4 being my current OC). Although i hardly ever have had to do this.
     
  10. pl.

    Associate

    Joined: 17 May 2006

    Posts: 34


    thx it needed to get upgraded bt that wasnt the case why i'm lagging/freezing in some games,
    long story bt its down to my onboard sound it aint gd enough :( i disable it and it was working great :D my a new sound card would do it hopefully

    any1 else have/had the same problem?? and what did you do ?
     
    Last edited: 4 Jun 2006