Help Understanding the latest components

Associate
Hi all,

This thread is just for me to get an understand of the latest components.

CPU

At the moment i know that the conroe E6600 seems to be the best choice for new gaming pc's. So I would go with it. I also want to try overclocking when its neeeded and have read that it overclocks great.

When can we expect quad core to be out ? are they gonna be cheaper like the core 2 duo's that are out now ? compared the quad cores that are out now ?

GFX Cards

Im pretty new to this stuff about the latest graphics cards.

All I really know about the 8800 GTX is that its the latest and best so far. and thats what i tend to go on when buying components.

I want to be building a beast of a rig next year a bit after end of february and now im doing my research. Will the 8800 gtx be any cheaper around then ? or will new ones be out ?

At the time being its the 8800 gtx thats seems the best, but ive been reading threads and there seems to be others coming out. Something about g80 or along those lines. Im getting confused about this all and when they coming out.

Could you guys explain maybe what new graphics cards are coming out and what they are possibly or maybe there is a good thread that you could direct me too, to have a read.

I want to be able to understand all the new things to be sure that I make the best choice for a 1500 pound pc. ( With all you guys help too :D )

HDD's

I dont really know which is the best to be going with in terms of a hard drive, I would like to have a raptor but there are many people saying that the improvement in performance is nothing really to get excited about and you better off paying less and getting a larger 7200rpm drive.