1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP! Whole system went down

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Doc Rob, 7 Mar 2006.

  1. Doc Rob

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Oct 2005

    Posts: 114

    Sitting happily playing WoW this afternoon. Suddenly heard a tortured-plastic noise (like something cracking). Took me a few seconds to identify it as coming from the PC. Then noise gets louder, and suddenly the whole system powers down, accompanied by a burning electrical smell.

    Obviously unplugged everything immediately and opened up the case. Nothing really seemed to smell, apart from possibly the PSU - a Hiper, bought from here only a couple of months back.

    Computer will not turn on at all now - power switch on PSU does not light up when switched on.

    Does this sound like purely a PSU problem? I'm praying nothing else is damaged.
     
  2. semi-pro waster

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 25,829

    Location: Glasgow

    Do you have another PSU that you could test it with? If you are lucky then because it is a decent brand of PSU then it won't have taken anything else with it. I don't know for certain that it is the PSU at fault but it sounds reasonably likely.
     
  3. Doc Rob

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Oct 2005

    Posts: 114

    PSU positively identified as source of problem - reproduced noise and smell when plugged in - and fused its power lead. (Turns out it had fused the first one as well).

    Went out and bought a replacement PSU - thinking that I'll argue the toss with the suppliers later. Guess what? New PSU all wired up, but now the lights are on but nobody's home. Green light on the MB, PSU light on, nothing happens on pushing the power button whatsoever. I don't know precisely what has been cooked, but Hiper owe me a replacement. And I am seriously ****** off.
     
  4. MuSsEr

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,135

    id try unplugging everything and then see what works one bit at a time, see if u get any life with just the cpu in and then add the ram etc.
     
  5. Doc Rob

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Oct 2005

    Posts: 114

    I'm not enough of a tech-head to do this myself, but I know a man who is. Taking PC to see him tomorrow.

    :( :mad:
     
  6. muckymick

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 May 2003

    Posts: 328

    Location: Sunny Stoke

    Have you tried clearing the cmos ?
     
  7. NightmareXX

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Aug 2005

    Posts: 1,025

    Location: Team 10

    Why would the CMOS of been affected?

    And if it was, wouldn't if of been fried?
     
  8. muckymick

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 May 2003

    Posts: 328

    Location: Sunny Stoke

    A spike in power to the mobo may have upset something and clearing the bios may just cure it.