1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help With Upgrading CPU

Discussion in 'New to PC gaming & upgrade advice' started by JackConan, 14 Sep 2018.

  1. JackConan

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Sep 2018

    Posts: 6

    So right now i'm looking to upgrade my cpu but I am very limited because my motherboard is (https://www.asrock.com/MB/AMD/FM2A68M-HD+/index.asp) and I would like to get a cpu that is able to run well in combination with the Gtx 1050 ti 3gb to run games like the new Black ops 4, I am not looking to get a new motherboard and have a budget of around $100 (about £80) please anyone get back to me with recommendations that will fit my motherboard socket asap, I really hate not having a good cpu but a good GPU.
     
  2. ExRayTed

    Underboss

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,691

    Location: Surrey

    Hi and welcome to the forums :)

    Firstly, what CPU do you have at the moment? You should be looking at the A10 Richland series of CPUs, if you can find one. The support list for your board is here (from the link you provided) - https://www.asrock.com/MB/AMD/FM2A68M-HD+/index.asp#CPU

    Bear in mind even the best of these is quite old now and won't be setting the world alight. I suppose it really does depend on what you are running at the moment
     
  3. JackConan

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Sep 2018

    Posts: 6

    Thanks for the reply! Currently I am running a AMD A8-7600 Radeon R7, 10 Compute Cores 4C+6G, 3094 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
     
  4. JackConan

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Sep 2018

    Posts: 6

    Also to add on to that, is there any cpu's of that seires that is equivalent to or even better than the Intel Core i5-2500K or the AMD equivalent?
     
  5. ExRayTed

    Underboss

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,691

    Location: Surrey

  6. JackConan

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Sep 2018

    Posts: 6

  7. ExRayTed

    Underboss

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,691

    Location: Surrey

    Well you're looking at a new motherboard, cpu and ram. What case and power supply do you have now?
     
  8. nemesisuk2

    Associate

    Joined: 27 Feb 2017

    Posts: 94

    Location: London

    Well R3 2200 is $100 mobo $70-100 and RAM around 80 or so for 8 gb
     
  9. Terrorfirmer

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Nov 2013

    Posts: 701

    Location: Ireland

    Yeah sell it and get a Ryzen 1200 + A320M + 8GB DDR4.

    Even the fastest CPU on that socket type you have is barely faster than an Intel Pentium. COD is usually not very CPU intensive but with this new Battle Royale Mode, likely your CPU, or any CPU on that socket, will perform poorly.

    Getting a new CPU for your current motherboard would be a waste of time, very small upgrade for not insignificant money....and still bad performance.
     
  10. AKAK

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Jan 2018

    Posts: 315

    You could get a used am3+ board and CPU for your budget eg an fx6350.
     
  11. ExRayTed

    Underboss

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,691

    Location: Surrey

    Really no point, sideways move at best
     
  12. AKAK

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Jan 2018

    Posts: 315

    My mistake - I thought the OP's cpu was older.
     
  13. JackConan

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Sep 2018

    Posts: 6

    Thank you all for your replies, What would be the cheapest but most cost effective option? Tomorrow I will have details on my PSU, and any other things needed, Currently I have 8gb DDR3 RAM. Thank you all for your replies again!
     
  14. ExRayTed

    Underboss

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,691

    Location: Surrey

    No problem, that's what we're here for :)

    My basket at Overclockers UK:
    Total: £256.47 (includes shipping: £10.50) ​
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]


    This would be a big improvement over what you have already. If you can afford more then obviously you'll get more performance, it all depends on how deep your pockets are.
     
  15. JackConan

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Sep 2018

    Posts: 6

    My pockets aren't very deep at the moment, I'll add these to my Christmas list. Is there any way I could get maybe the motherboard or the ram down? Like not get the ram and find some that isn't necessarily good looking but rather just what does the job well and for a good price? Hoping to get the stuff before Christmas but. I appreciate your input greatly and for how much of a help you have been to me.
     
  16. ExRayTed

    Underboss

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,691

    Location: Surrey

    Yup, just buy the cheapest DDR4 and AM4 motherboard you can find and maybe go to 4gb RAM. I can't help but feel you'd do better saving for a bit and lowering the settings right down in game for now until you can afford a proper upgrade.