1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with VMWare Workstation Network

Discussion in 'Servers and Enterprise Solutions' started by HungryHippos, 4 Oct 2009.

  1. HungryHippos

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 Mar 2004

    Posts: 8,711

    Location: Fareham

    Hey guys,

    I'm trying to figure out how to sort the networking side of things out on my VmWare Workstation machines. This is what I currently have:

    1 Domain Controller - Server 2003 R2 SP2
    1 WDS Server - Server 2003 R2 SP2

    I could use some help with the networking, this is what I want to do:

    Domain Controller gets Internet connection from my Home PC (I'm guessing I still need to use the bridged connection) and is then used as the DHCP Client and DNS server, I want all the clients connected to the DC to have Internet access etc and to get their IP addresses assigned by the DHCP server.

    Can anyone help me out to achieve this?

    I've been fiddling around with the IPv4 settings but I haven't found a way yet that works properly :p

    My PC has these network settings:

    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.6(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 04 October 2009 07:58:05
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 05 October 2009 07:58:05
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    For my DC I had to set the settings manually:

    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 127.0.0.1

    for the WDS server (manual assignment):

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
     
  2. marc2003

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Feb 2004

    Posts: 20,206

    Location: England

    if you're using bridged networking, you'll want to disable dhcp on your router. you don't want it conflicting with your server's dhcp service.

    also, you'd want to configure your WDS server to use your router as the default gateway. this is needed for internet access to still work. use the router as the default gateway in your dhcp scope for your clients also.