1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

High pings and packet loss

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Swinbag, 2 Dec 2008.

  1. Swinbag

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2008

    Posts: 1,217

    hi all,
    so basically i've been with UKonline for years, they have been flawless and i have been getting stable 30 ping to all uk/ eu servers on cod2/4.
    but since the end of October whenever i game during peak times my ping shoots up to 100+ and stays there, my lagomter in cod4 lights up red like a christmas tree (indicating packetloss?). come 12 am everything goes back to normal.
    don't get me wrong I understand that bandwidth is stretched during these times but I've never experienced anything as bad as this..

    i have upgraded the firmware on my router, tried different filters & ethernet cables, factory restored the router etc and nothing has worked.

    i've called ukonline numerous times but i just get the usual 'check for virus/ spyware' stuff, im using kaspersky internet security 2009 and have been running a full scan every day with nothing comming up.

    sorry for the massive post it's just driving me round the bend :confused:
    any help or suggestions would be much appreciated
    cheers
     
    Last edited: 2 Dec 2008
  2. Senture

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 May 2007

    Posts: 2,355

    Location: London

    Not sure what to say except I've been there myself, same ISP too. Evening pings were between 500-2000ms with extreme packet loss. Part of the contract (was for me, not sure if they still have this clause) is if they can't fix the issue, they'll release you from the contract without having to pay the remainder. They refused to do this for me so I had to pay my way out, £175 down the drain.
     
  3. Swinbag

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2008

    Posts: 1,217

    thanks for the heads up senture, i gues now then I'm looking at switching isp, but I don't have a clue who to go with, I play a lot of games online and was looking at some of plus-net's services.. the pro package inparticular - anyone had any experience with them or suggest any other decent isp's? (I know it all depends on your exchange etc) I was tempted by be* untill I read some of the threads on this forum:(
    by the way I live in the backside of narnia and according to most tester's my lines capable of about 3.0mbps..
    cheers
     
    Last edited: 2 Dec 2008
  4. Skidilliplop

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Oct 2008

    Posts: 1,890

    Location: South London

    Don't be put off by bad review on here, half the people on public forums don't know what they're doing and arn't in a position to comment. It depends entirely on your area and line the experience you'll have. If you bother to look you'll find horror stories about any ISP.

    Unlike Senture if they pull that stunt take them to small claims court. or Threaten to, they'll let you out. Check the SLA and contract first tho.
     
  5. esK`

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Dec 2007

    Posts: 1,740

    I'm getting exactly the same issue with UKonline too. Tryin to figure out what it is!
     
  6. Swinbag

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2008

    Posts: 1,217

    would say I'm sorry to hear that esk` but it's kind of nice to hear i'm not the only one..
    if your interested i've been running some ping tests this afternoon since about 3:50

    first i used my cod4 servers ip - it's hosted in london by multiplay, i started the ping test and had a ping avg of 49 which is fine. but as soon as it hit 16:00
    (this is just a small section)
    Reply from 85.236.101.53: bytes=1024 time=548ms TTL=122
    Reply from 85.236.101.53: bytes=1024 time=542ms TTL=122
    Reply from 85.236.101.53: bytes=1024 time=536ms TTL=122
    Reply from 85.236.101.53: bytes=1024 time=547ms TTL=122
    Reply from 85.236.101.53: bytes=1024 time=546ms TTL=122
    Reply from 85.236.101.53: bytes=1024 time=540ms TTL=122
    Reply from 85.236.101.53: bytes=1024 time=546ms TTL=122
    Reply from 85.236.101.53: bytes=1024 time=547ms TTL=122
    Reply from 85.236.101.53: bytes=1024 time=547ms TTL=122
    Reply from 85.236.101.53: bytes=1024 time=547ms TTL=122

    Ping statistics for 85.236.101.53:
    Packets: Sent = 1141, Received = 1141, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 47ms, Maximum = 901ms, Average = 275ms

    tried pinging www.bbc.co.uk
    Pinging www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.253.67] with 1024 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.


    Ping statistics for 212.58.253.67:
    Packets: Sent = 15, Received = 0, Lost = 15 (100% loss),

    then google

    Pinging www.l.google.com [66.102.9.147] with 1024 bytes of data:

    Reply from 66.102.9.147: bytes=56 (sent 1024) time=79ms TTL=246
    Reply from 66.102.9.147: bytes=56 (sent 1024) time=483ms TTL=246
    Reply from 66.102.9.147: bytes=56 (sent 1024) time=532ms TTL=246
    Reply from 66.102.9.147: bytes=56 (sent 1024) time=528ms TTL=246
    Reply from 66.102.9.147: bytes=56 (sent 1024) time=535ms TTL=246
    Reply from 66.102.9.147: bytes=56 (sent 1024) time=530ms TTL=246
    Reply from 66.102.9.147: bytes=56 (sent 1024) time=550ms TTL=246
    Reply from 66.102.9.147: bytes=56 (sent 1024) time=250ms TTL=246
    Reply from 66.102.9.147: bytes=56 (sent 1024) time=497ms TTL=246



    Ping statistics for 66.102.9.147:
    Packets: Sent = 44, Received = 44, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 79ms, Maximum = 708ms, Average = 555ms

    going to give them another call tonight to see if they can help, don't want to abandon ship at the first sign of trouble in years but i'm really losing my patiene :mad:

    out of interest esK` what router are you using?
     
  7. esK`

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Dec 2007

    Posts: 1,740

    Tried a Netgear DG834PN and a Linksys WAG325N both had the same results. So it shows its not the router, I recieved an email today from them saying that with all the new VAT regs coming out they will let you move ISP as they arent changing the prices. Im tempted to move as im getting frustrated with it now.
     
  8. Sel

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Sep 2003

    Posts: 433

    Location: Stoke

    To ping using the BBC it just BBC.co.uk or it won't ping.