1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hiper Type-R Modular 580w PSU SLI ready?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by waveydave79, 5 Feb 2006.

  1. waveydave79

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Feb 2006

    Posts: 544

    Location: nottingham

    I am about to order from o/c this is the 1st SLI am putting together and have decided to use the above PSU, Overclockers state this is a SLI ready psu, however the below review (and other reviews) stated this only came with one PCi-express 6 pin connector.

    see the bottom of this page

    http://www.viperlair.com/reviews/cases/other/psu/hip4B580/p2.shtml

    " Cons: Only one PCIe – not SLI ready (Editors Note - Since writing this review, Hiper's next shipment of HPU-4K580 will be SLi ready; there will be an extra PCI-E connector bundled with the PSU), P4 cable – not EPS12V/ ‘P8’ ready "

    I need a confirmation that the above PSU does have 2, possibly someone who has ordered this PSU can confirm this for me. This would be a huge letdown to find out it only has 1 when its advertised as SLI ready
     
  2. Reiver

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Oct 2005

    Posts: 380

    Unless it has changed from 2 months ago when i got mine the Hiper comes with 1 pci-e connector that plugs directly into the psu and one molex to pci-e adapter.
     
  3. waveydave79

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Feb 2006

    Posts: 544

    Location: nottingham

    Unfortunaly I have just found out the order has gone through,

    I have ordered Akasa PCI Express 6 Pin to 4 Pin Power cable adaptor for PCI-E Graphics Cards (CB-018-AK)

    pleaee let me know if this will be a problem.
     
  4. Reiver

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Oct 2005

    Posts: 380

    No need for the adapter as the psu already comes with one. Are you actually going to be running two g-cards? Or is it just an sli mobo?
     
  5. Siders77

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Nov 2005

    Posts: 960

    Location: Yate, Bristol

    This is what mine came with. :)

    [​IMG]
     
  6. waveydave79

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Feb 2006

    Posts: 544

    Location: nottingham

    The top on looks like a standard molex to 6 pin

    however I cannot make out what the bottom cable is.

    from the picture you are saying it only comes with the 1 adpater. I have ordered another Akaska 6 pin extender to cover myself, as from the forums it seems a bit hit and miss if 2 is included.
     
  7. Reiver

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Oct 2005

    Posts: 380

    The bottom one is the 6 pin pci-e cable that plugs straight into the psu. There is no need for the adapter but it's your money and it's better to have peace of mind i suppose.
     
  8. waveydave79

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Feb 2006

    Posts: 544

    Location: nottingham

    Cheers Reiver, id prefer to go for the peace of mind, I will be annoyed if its comes with 1 as its advertised SLI ready. Its a good job i checked, but my faullt the order went through.

    When did you order by the way becuase I heard that someone ordered 2 months ago and he did not get 2?
     
  9. Raymond Lin

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 65,920

    Location: Wish i was in .Lethal's house

    If you only got 1, call up Hiper and they'll sent you another one free of charge.
     
  10. Reiver

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Oct 2005

    Posts: 380

    About 2-3 months ago.
     
  11. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    I bought one for my friend in September and got 2 :confused:
     
  12. Budge

    Associate

    Joined: 10 Jan 2005

    Posts: 7

    Location: uk

    This happened to me, they sent me one straight away without any fuss at all - great customer service!
     
  13. Insomniak

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Oct 2002

    Posts: 389

    Location: Stoke - on - Trent

    I only got one with mine and it doesnt fit the pcie connector on my 7800GT :-(
    The Hiper PCIE plug has metal contacts in all the holes. The connectror that came with the card had the metal contact missing in one hole and fitted fine. Strange.
    Anyone got a link for their customer services?
     
  14. Raymond Lin

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 65,920

    Location: Wish i was in .Lethal's house

    The number is on their site I believe.
     
  15. kinggost

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,860

    Location: Nottingham

    didnt you get one with the graphic cards. I got one with both my cards
     
  16. NightSt@lk3r

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 7 Dec 2005

    Posts: 7,607

    Location: Wiltshire

    mine came with both these 2 and ive had it about 3 months
     
  17. Sanzy

    Banned

    Joined: 12 Mar 2005

    Posts: 1,117

    Location: Forget About It

    my hiper is Sli Ready
     
  18. DELETED_36704

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Mar 2005

    Posts: 1,385

    Location: Cornwall

    It comes with two
     
  19. Werewolf

    Commissario

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 28,603

    Location: Panting like a fiend

    The one i used to setup someones PC the other day came with 2.

    One that connects directly to the PSU, and one as an adaptor off a normal molex.
     
  20. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    Yup, that's how my friend's one came 4 months ago.

    Incidentally, his graphics card also came with one - XFX 7800GT IIRC.