1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How can I connect 2 pcs to the internet?

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by KizZ, 7 Jan 2006.

  1. KizZ

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 5,235

    Location: Lincoln

    I've had a crappy PC for 3 years now and I decided to built my self a new rig. Main reasons were that it was really slow, bad for games and my dad was using it a LOT. So about a month ago I built my first rig which i bought from OcUK and its awesome. Now lets get to the point. Bassicly i want to have the internet on both pcs 24/7. If they share the net and the "main" pc (the old one) was switched off will I still have the net on the new one? And will this slow down the speed? Also I dont want to pay lot of money on this. I am using NTL boradband (1meg), Im not sure if it is ADSL or Cable so heres a pic that shows what its like:

    [​IMG]

    Sorry I suck at networking :D

    Thanks :)
     
  2. toy_soldier

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 3 Dec 2004

    Posts: 2,313

    Location: Sheffield

    NTL is cable (i think) so you would just need a cable router and 2 network cables.
     
  3. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    Depends how you share it...
     
  4. toy_soldier

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 3 Dec 2004

    Posts: 2,313

    Location: Sheffield

    Well you have 2 options that i can think of, cheapest being just using a crossover cable between the pc's which would require the pc with the modem plugged into it to be on all the time, or like i said before buy a router.
     
  5. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    It was mainly directed at
     
  6. Etaqua

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Nov 2005

    Posts: 478

    All you need is a router and two ethernet cables (or a wireless router if you want to go wireless). :)

    Connect them all up, and you've got a small home network. :o
     
  7. KizZ

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 5,235

    Location: Lincoln

    Ok, how exactly is all this going to connect? I would really appreciate if you draw a little diagram. :)

    TIA
     
  8. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    Router method:
    Modem > Router (via ethernet cable) > To PC's #1 and #2 (via ethernet cable)

    Or, if you opt not to use the Router:
    Modem > PC #1 (via USB or ethernet cable) > PC #2 (via ethernet cable)
     
  9. KizZ

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 5,235

    Location: Lincoln

    Thanks, but lets say I chose option 2 and PC #1 was switched off, will I still have the internet on PC #2?

    TIA
     
  10. toy_soldier

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 3 Dec 2004

    Posts: 2,313

    Location: Sheffield

    No it would need to be on.
     
  11. KizZ

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 5,235

    Location: Lincoln

    Thanks, I think I'll have to go for option 1# a wireless router because I don't think a 15 meter long enthernet cable exists lol. And they'll be sharing a connection right? Will this "split" the speed like 512kb for PC #1 and 512kb for PC #2?

    TIA
     
  12. computer techie

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Jan 2006

    Posts: 40

    Location: Maltby Nr Rotherham

    they go longer than 15metre mate than can be aslong as you desire longest ive ever made tho is 50metres
     
  13. Skilldibop

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,284

    Location: London

    Ethernet cables are good for 100m maybe 110 if your not near lots of electrical kit.

    If your talking PCs that don't move, might as well wire it. the routers are cheaper and it's less hassle.
    Wireless brings it's own problems and you really should learn a bit about networking wit wires before you go wireless. A lot of people dive into wireless sraight away, which is fine till it goes wrong and they don't have a clue how it works.

    The bandwidth splits dynamically depending on demand. You can set QoS on the router to prevent one PC hogging the bandwidth.
     
  14. derbyjake

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Nov 2005

    Posts: 425

    Location: Derbyshire UK

    id advise to go wire if possibly mate because is faster for files transfers etc then wireless you can pick up a 15metre lead from you local pc shop for bout 4/5 quid i know at ours a 25mtr one is a fiver, or you can make one yourself but for one lead its a bit ott unless your gona start to put sockets in the wall etc
     
  15. Skilldibop

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,284

    Location: London

    Liksys speedbooster and USR turbo get you 125Mbps over wireless, which minus the wifi overheads is about equivalent to wired. :p
    I still side with wired but the "wired is faster" argument is somewhat defunkt now.
     
  16. derbyjake

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Nov 2005

    Posts: 425

    Location: Derbyshire UK

    ok my appoligies for the wired is faster comment
     
  17. Skilldibop

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,284

    Location: London

    Fool, if you'd have said "i meant gigabit" you could have forced me to curl up and cry.
    Chance missed :p
     
  18. KizZ

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 5,235

    Location: Lincoln

    What router would you reccomend me?
     
  19. Bellboy

    Gangster

    Joined: 28 Jan 2005

    Posts: 347

    If you want all options, I've just bought the Linksys WAG354G wireless router which also has a 4 port switch on it for 'wired' connections (at least it better bloody have as that's what I intend to use on it!). This way if you choose to set up a wireless conneciton in the future you can do. It is also adsl2+ enabled. People on a number of forums recommended this one to me.

    The belkin 7633 also has the same capabilities, and was also recommended.

    Both of these are about £60 (belkin a bit more) though which in domestic use router terms is medium priced afaik, depends if you want to spend that much.
     
  20. KizZ

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 5,235

    Location: Lincoln

    Thanks. Any other reccomendations?