1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How can I run IPX over TCP/IP

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by UnknownSoldier, 1 Jun 2006.

  1. UnknownSoldier

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Jul 2005

    Posts: 230

    Location: London / Nottingham

    I am trying to run Red Alert 2 over the uni network but it uses IPX/SPX. I have installed IPX/SPX on all the computers and we are all running battlelan but the game still does not work.

    Is there anyway of running IPX over TCP/IP. If anyone can point in the right direction I would be really greatfull.

    Thanks
     
  2. BigBoy

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,048

    Location: Bath

    It is possible that the ports are blocked by your uni network admin so as to stop people doing this. It is not uncommon.
     
  3. FordPrefect

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,715

    It depends upon your universities network, if you are all in the same subnet then you might get away with it but even then it is still possible to block it. If you arent in the same subnet then its very unlikely you could play this game directly over the network. With the right equipment you could possibly setup an L2TP VPN where its *possible* to do it, but it wouldnt be very easy to setup and wouldnt be a cheap option. I dont know exactly how to do it, but it should theoretically be possible with an L2TP VPN.

    TBH I'd either try and get you all into the same room or choose a different game.
     
  4. UnknownSoldier

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Jul 2005

    Posts: 230

    Location: London / Nottingham

    Well its turns out that we are on the same subnet mask (255.0.0.0) but its still not working.

    Any ideas on what setting I should use within the game?

    @Bigboy: All other games play fine. I think its a problem with IPX/SPX protocol
     
  5. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    You can have the same subnet mask but a vastly different subnet.
     
  6. FordPrefect

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,715

    Whats the first octet of your IP addresses? Are they all the same? ie 10.x.x.x by any chance? Dont worry 10.x.x.x is an RFC 1918 address and is only locally significant.
     
  7. Nikumba

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Dec 2002

    Posts: 3,718

    Location: Bourne, Lincs

    I have had this problem before. What you need to do is make sure red alert is using the right network card.

    In the options you can pick from a list of network cards. It will pick up any network card, firewire port etc and list them all.

    Goto command prompt and type ipconfig /all you want the physical address of your main network card and make sure that is the one selected in the options

    Nikumba
     
  8. UnknownSoldier

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Jul 2005

    Posts: 230

    Location: London / Nottingham

    Fordprefect: The first number is in our IPs is 10

    Nikumba: We have already tried that. I will have a go again later but it did seem to to work before.
     
  9. afraser2k

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,515

    Location: Glasgow

    You sure IPX traffic is enabled? My university recently turned off IPX on all their systems so something might be blocking it? I think it was a general JANET policy change.
     
  10. FordPrefect

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,715

    They are all on the same subnet so it should work as the switch should automatically work with IPX, would be different if there were routers in the way. That brings the problem down to a problem on the PCs or the university switches are actively blocking IPX traffic. I'd suggest that you check your PCs out, do you actually have IPX/SPX installed on your PCs? As its not installed by default with windows XP.
     
  11. tonyyeb

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 May 2006

    Posts: 4,236

    Location: 127.0.0.1

    Simple test, get the two pcs in the same room, mini hub and see if they can talk to each other... play red alert.

    If it works then it is nothing to do with either PC, network card, game etc... It is the uni network.
     
  12. andrewbell1984

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 20 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,685

    Red Alert 2 is an ipx protocol game for LAN, To enable it you need to just add the protocol in the network properties on the NIC, make sure that in the game you check settings.

    Red Alert 2 > Options > network > select the correct network card from the list from the drop down bar.

    You may need to do this on all pcs playing the game.
     
  13. tonyyeb

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 May 2006

    Posts: 4,236

    Location: 127.0.0.1

    He has installed IPX/SPX
     
  14. JonC

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Aug 2003

    Posts: 1,318

    Location: Here, there, everywhere.

    I've had an issue before, when trying to play worms 2 over a network, using IPX. From what I can remember it was affected somehow by directx versions, and they all had to be the same (god knows why).

    Probably won't help, but something to try.


    jonc