1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How can I test CPU

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by grifgrif1, 1 Jun 2010.

  1. grifgrif1

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Dec 2009

    Posts: 79

    Location: Worcestershire

    I currently have a gaming pc that will not post. I've been sending different parts back to manufacturars to see if there's any problems - but so far there has been none found. I now need to test my CPU but I don't have another pc with an AM3 socket motherboard. Is there any other way I can test my CPU to see if it's that, that is causing the problem ? (I've also looked at my CPU and can't see any physical damage to it as of yet e.g bent pins)
     
  2. spirits247

    Hitman

    Joined: 29 Jan 2007

    Posts: 725

    Very unlikely to be the CPU if the pins are fine.

    By not post, what do you mean? Won't switch on? No display output? Hangs?
     
  3. Admiral Huddy

    Caporegime

    Joined: 17 Feb 2003

    Posts: 29,618

    Location: Chelmsford

  4. rickh

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Dec 2008

    Posts: 612

    Most likely not the cpu.
    IF any of the parts are to be damaged, it is most probably the motherboard.
     
  5. Ryan-3

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 14 Sep 2009

    Posts: 8,821

    Location: Northumberland

    or the Ram?

    if theres no power, its most probably the PSU, or broke MoBo.
    If no picture, usually GPU or RAM.
     
  6. Admiral Huddy

    Caporegime

    Joined: 17 Feb 2003

    Posts: 29,618

    Location: Chelmsford

    Test the PSU first
     
  7. grifgrif1

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Dec 2009

    Posts: 79

    Location: Worcestershire

    Thanks for all your replys guys - I have tried booting with a different psu - bu the same problem occurs where the computer cones in for about 5 seconds and then turns it self off - I haven't tested the ram yet because someone told me that the pc should be able to post without but not boot into windows. I've got two 'sticks' of 2gb ram making 4gb - I've tried them in different slots. My motherboard has been sent back to gigabyte for testing bit has been returned back to me with no faults. I have found though that if I unplug the CPU power cable on the motherboard then the computer stays on but of couse doesn't beep to say it has posted. Any advice ??? - thanks guys
     
  8. Destination

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 May 2009

    Posts: 20,580

    Turning itself off after 5 seconds?
    You do have a cooler properly attached, and thats functioning properly, proper layer of thermal paste, no sticker left on the bottom of the cooler?
     
  9. spirits247

    Hitman

    Joined: 29 Jan 2007

    Posts: 725

    Have you installed the standoffs between the back of the motherboard and the case properly? It sounds like the motherboard is shorting out somewhere and switching off.

    Are there any beeps before it switches off?
     
  10. grifgrif1

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Dec 2009

    Posts: 79

    Location: Worcestershire

    There seemed to be good contact between the cpu and the cooler - as when I tried to remove the thermal paste had actually stuck strongly to the fan. (spirits247) - there is no beep before it turns on - (thats what made me think it was'nt posting) any ideas ??
    Can I also just ask - Is it possible for the computer to be able to 'post' (not boot - so just beep at least without the RAM installed

    Thanks for all help guys !
     
  11. asoxedri

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Sep 2009

    Posts: 655

    Location: London

    can you post what you are trying to put together?

    all the components?
     
  12. Dazza_Random

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Sep 2007

    Posts: 303

    CPU's are the last thing to go wrong and should be tested last and 99% of the time its something else
     
  13. grifgrif1

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Dec 2009

    Posts: 79

    Location: Worcestershire

    Thanks - but sorry I forgot to mention that I've had this current system for the last year now - this problem has only just occured after transporting it to a different location. Any ideas ??? And can I ask .... Should I be able to post without RAM ??
     
  14. scruffeh

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Apr 2006

    Posts: 498

    Sounds like the problem I had before. I turned out to be the PSU, but it actually damaged the mobo as well. It should at least stay powered on without RAM
     
  15. JonJ678

    Capodecina

    Joined: 22 Dec 2008

    Posts: 10,371

    Location: England

    Processors can fail. Getting an rma for one is nearly impossible, as it's so much more likely to be user error than a dead processor. As an added bonus, retailers are quite capable of testing defective hardware, deciding it's fine and then shipping it back to you.

    Don't suppose you shipped it violently with the heatsink attached did you?
     
  16. Cycrow

    Mobster

    Joined: 11 Nov 2003

    Posts: 2,961

    Location: London

    The pc won't post without ram
    With no ram or faulty ram it should power up and give out some beeps. But it won't power the display or post

    Make sure u have a speaker connected to hear the beeps