1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How connect to PC? H&B Speaker System + Subwoofer SH-155

Discussion in 'Sound City' started by norbie, 15 Feb 2006.

  1. norbie

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Jan 2006

    Posts: 117

    I have just bought one of these sets:

    H&B Speaker System + Subwoofer SH-155
    [​IMG]
    http://www.hb-direct.co.uk/EN/P_41.html

    My question is how can I connect this to my PC?
    I have seen reviews of people saying they have done so, but it has 6 phono plugs, not just one to go in the coaxial socket on my motherboard. I have a 7.1 motherboard.
     
    Last edited: 15 Feb 2006
  2. Seirrah

    Gangster

    Joined: 28 Jul 2005

    Posts: 361

    I'd get rid of the competitor link.

    It should connect to your pc via a digital coaxial cable. What soundcard do you have ?
     
  3. norbie

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Jan 2006

    Posts: 117

    Sorry, I replaced it with the manufacturers link.

    I have onboard AC97 7.1 sound.
    [​IMG]

    The thing is these speakers have six phono plugs to plug into your computer or DVD system. A digital coaxial socket only has one socket lol.
     
  4. Seirrah

    Gangster

    Joined: 28 Jul 2005

    Posts: 361

    So you only have the six phono inputs into the speakers ? ...nothing else ?

    I guess there is maybe one phono lead for each speaker, and I can't see how you'd connect that to your pc without more info.
     
  5. norbie

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Jan 2006

    Posts: 117

    Yeah, out of the main unit there are 6 leads to connect to the audio source (nothing to do with connecting the speakers together).

    Each lead has one phono plug and this is what they're for:

    Front L
    Front R
    Back L
    Back R
    Woofer
    Center Speaker

    Somehow I need to condense those 6 down to 1, or find a sound card that has 6 phono outputs instead of 3.5mm jacks.
     
  6. .:MBK:.

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Jan 2004

    Posts: 4,508

    Location: Harrogate

    just a suggestion but maybe phono to 3.5mm converters? just google it and see if any of it is what you're looking for
     
  7. norbie

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Jan 2006

    Posts: 117

    That's the only thing I can think of, but I'm not sure it will work.

    I'll have to pick up a couple to give it a go.
     
    Last edited: 16 Feb 2006
  8. .:MBK:.

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Jan 2004

    Posts: 4,508

    Location: Harrogate

    cant see why it shouldnt, if its a split (2-in-1 type) then its just combining the L/R of the front/centre/back into your sound card
     
  9. norbie

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Jan 2006

    Posts: 117

    I will need 2 in 1's then, giving me 3 3.5mm jack plugs to plug into my board?
     
  10. norbie

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Jan 2006

    Posts: 117

    I am confident it will work now.

    I have just seen this image, and I have the 6 phonos there but not that particular lead. From this image it would seem that I can convert those 6 phonos down to the 3 3.5's I need :)

    [​IMG]

    Thanks for everyone's help I'll have to give it a go!
     
  11. .:MBK:.

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Jan 2004

    Posts: 4,508

    Location: Harrogate

    your welcome, i was just recalling the days when i had my stereo amplifier....really want that back now, just remember to get ones the right way round or you'll end up with several converters rather than just the one
     
  12. norbie

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Jan 2006

    Posts: 117

    This set works great, all setup now :)

    All I needed was 3x 3.5mm jack -> 2 RCA/Phono adaptors.

    Thanks again for all your help :)