1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

how do I install dual core

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Cpu_Bible, 14 Aug 2006.

  1. Cpu_Bible

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Jun 2006

    Posts: 31

    Hi

    just a noob question

    got a x2 4800 cpu

    steps I should do

    update the bios

    reinstall XP

    do I need any drivers for the cpu? is there anything else I should do
     
  2. Stelly

    Don

    Joined: 5 Oct 2005

    Posts: 11,045

    Location: Liverpool

    open up device manager - expand computer - it should say ACPI singleprocessor PC right click and click properties - click the Driver tab - click update - change it to a ACPI multiprocessor PC

    Stelly
     
  3. Big.Wayne

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2003

    Posts: 14,695

    Location: London

    I just took out old mono-core CPU and inserted dual-core cpu and turned the PC on, when it got into windows a little plug-n-play bubble appeared near the system tray and said *installing multi-processor* or something like that?

    a no-brainer!
     
  4. Phemo

    Soldato

    Joined: 6 May 2004

    Posts: 5,573

    Location: Portsmouth

    You don't need to do anything. Just put the new CPU in and boot up. XP will update the kernel type itself and prompt for a reboot and after you reboot you'll have two usage graphs appear in task manager.

    Did exactly the same thing in the past when moving from a 3700+ to an X2 4400+. No Windows reinstall or device manager changes are required.

    You can install the AMD dual core CPU optimiser which you'll find on their site but I haven't needed to do this so only do so if you have any problems. There is also a CPU driver on AMD's site but again, I didn't find this did anything other than allow Cool n' Quiet so only install if you find you have any issues.
     
    Last edited: 14 Aug 2006
  5. Cpu_Bible

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Jun 2006

    Posts: 31

    you guys are awesome thanks