1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

How do i UNDERclock my GFX card?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Noto, 16 Feb 2006.

  1. Noto

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Dec 2002

    Posts: 1,892

    Basically I am having some issues with random reboots in WoW, and my BF2 just closes to desktop sometimes. i think maybe my GFX card is over heating. Its a HIS X800 XT PE running at standard out the box speeds. (only recently started happening which is odd)

    just trying to eliminate possible problems. Thanks in advance!

    Ernest
     
  2. Seirrah

    Gangster

    Joined: 28 Jul 2005

    Posts: 361

    Can't you see the temp in the control panel ?
     
  3. vanandjuanunited

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,696

    ATI Tool and check the temps first.
     
  4. geforceuser

    Gangster

    Joined: 26 Mar 2004

    Posts: 245

    Location: Zurich

    use rivatuner to see temperatures during gameplay. also check rail voltages.
     
  5. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    Check the HSF.. it's quite possible it's clogged with dust. I would suggest either way getting a Zalman or Arctic cooler as they are better than the standard cooler. If indeed it is clogged with dust I'd suggest the Zalman as it's less likely to.
     
  6. Noto

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Dec 2002

    Posts: 1,892

    ive pulled my gfx card out to get the dust out before.. A REAL MISSION since the AGP lock thingie is so hard to get to. And it has one of those big plastic coolers pre-fitted so it takes up the PCI slot below it.

    Cool i will check rivatuner out as i want to monitor it closely before spending huge amounts of cash etc.
     
  7. Noto

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Dec 2002

    Posts: 1,892

    I am going to dl a voltage / CPU temp checker too, whats a good rail voltage... I never really doubted my PSU as its an Enermax Noisetaker 380 or 420w... cant really remember but the version was discontinued by enermax and a slightly high spec one (by 10-30watts) replaced it