1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How many more volts is safe on air

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Sparky-F1, 3 Feb 2006.

  1. Sparky-F1

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 23 Nov 2004

    Posts: 7,722

    Location: Roundabout City

    Currently sat at 1.475 for 3ghz and temps are idle 35 degrees full load 47 degrees how much more is safe on air?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. ukdave

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Oct 2003

    Posts: 280

    Location: UK

    That voltage is perfectly safe. Generally the rule of thumb is keep temps below around 50-55 under load. Nice clocking.
     
  3. Martynt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Feb 2004

    Posts: 16,098

    Location: Higher Walton

    Bah your safe for more dude ;)
     
  4. Sparky-F1

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 23 Nov 2004

    Posts: 7,722

    Location: Roundabout City

    You reckon 1.525 be ok Marv mate?
     
  5. Martynt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Feb 2004

    Posts: 16,098

    Location: Higher Walton

    Aye, you know you can trust me ;)
     
  6. JonnyGLC

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Oct 2004

    Posts: 3,125

    Location: Manchester

    Uh, just a bit off topic, but you in bury as in bury, manchester?
     
  7. Martynt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Feb 2004

    Posts: 16,098

    Location: Higher Walton

    Yup indeedy, Ramsbottom to be more precise
     
  8. Raikiri

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,775

    Location: Brighton

    Hehe Rams bottom /childish

    1.525v will be fine... go for 3.2ghz :)
     
  9. JonnyGLC

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Oct 2004

    Posts: 3,125

    Location: Manchester

    Indeed, i imagine anything upto 1.55v will be fine really, i've had my old newcastle chip running at that for over a year, and all went fine. Well i lie, for the majority of the time i had 1.7v through it :o
     
  10. Martynt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Feb 2004

    Posts: 16,098

    Location: Higher Walton

    Bah was waiting for that :(
     
  11. 4Qman

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Dec 2005

    Posts: 914

    Location: UK

    Temps mate thats all id be woring about., I have my rig next too a window
    with all the fans sucking the cold air in and i aint fussed about using 1.6v on air as long as the temps are good.

    But hay 1.5v to be safe. :)
     
  12. Sparky-F1

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 23 Nov 2004

    Posts: 7,722

    Location: Roundabout City

    Booted at 3.2ghz but died soon after.PSU isnt upto the job im afraid,temps were still below 40 though even at 1.5v
     
  13. Raikiri

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,775

    Location: Brighton

    What PSU is it? (get a new one!)
     
  14. Sparky-F1

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 23 Nov 2004

    Posts: 7,722

    Location: Roundabout City

    Thermaltake silent 480w


    Goona buy a Hiper 580 or pc+c at the end of the month.This thing is carp.
     
  15. kbc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Nov 2004

    Posts: 1,631

    Location: London

    Shame to be honest, decent overclock there. Get a Seasonic. :p Will last you a while before you consider another power upgrade.
     
  16. Raikiri

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,775

    Location: Brighton

    Ah yes, thermaltake PSUs arent up to much normally. their newest ones are ok though
     
  17. Sparky-F1

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 23 Nov 2004

    Posts: 7,722

    Location: Roundabout City

    Ok booted at 3.2 ran occt for all of 16 minutes then collapsed.Damn psu
     
  18. kbc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Nov 2004

    Posts: 1,631

    Location: London

    Damn lol... these are stock clocks of 2.0GHz, if you hit 3.2GHz with your new PSU, I'll be pretty excited to see some results. :D Enermax or the Seasonics are the way to go!
     
  19. Sparky-F1

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 23 Nov 2004

    Posts: 7,722

    Location: Roundabout City

    Managed 22 minutes when i disconnected a hdd so defo the psu. New 1 ordered.
     
  20. Martynt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Feb 2004

    Posts: 16,098

    Location: Higher Walton

    Which did you go for mate?