1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How many of you have Auto updates turned on?

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Mickey_D, 11 Jan 2006.

  1. Mickey_D

    Soldato

    Joined: 9 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,204

    Location: Gone......

    I thought I did. Come to find out it's not been on in quite a while.......

    31Mb of updates to download and install :(

    Guess what my computer will be doing while I'm sleeping?
     
  2. Groove

    Associate

    Joined: 28 Feb 2004

    Posts: 16

    56k i take it? ;)

    I don't have mine turned on, no reason really.
     
  3. malfunkshun

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Aug 2003

    Posts: 6,685

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    Shouldnt this be in the windows and other software section?
    i use notify only.
     
  4. Raymond Lin

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 66,883

    Location: Wish i was in .Lethal's house

    I have mine turn on, saves me remembering to update.

    Same for Antivirus, NOD32 does the update all by itself.
     
  5. NiCkNaMe

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Jul 2005

    Posts: 3,191

    Nah mines off, will generally navigate to the site myself if I hear of any important patches coming out. Don't want M$ just installing any old carp on my machine. All the comps on my network have it off as well, I'l just roll it out should anything important come about.
     
  6. Jimmeh

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Jan 2004

    Posts: 1,805

    Location: Chislehurst

    Notify for me. AV is set to download each morning though (should the PC be turned on).
     
  7. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,812

    Location: In a house

    I don't. :p
     
  8. Cybermyk

    Soldato

    Joined: 31 May 2005

    Posts: 6,850

    Location: Peoples Republik of Teesside

    I got mine set to tell me when updates are ready to install so I can choose not to at that time.
     
  9. Werewolf

    Commissario

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 29,347

    Location: Panting like a fiend

    same here, set to tell me when updates are ready :)

    I also manually check windows update whenever I hear of a problem
     
  10. Raze

    Hitman

    Joined: 7 Jul 2005

    Posts: 659

    Location: Huddersfield, UK

    Got mine to auto download and then it installs them when i turn my PC off.
     
  11. Berserker

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 4 Nov 2002

    Posts: 15,454

    Location: West Berkshire

    There are certain cases where Auto Update doesn't work - such as when Microsoft update the Windows Update system itself. That happened around the time WGA appeared, and I've found PCs that had auto update turned on that hadn't updated in ages.

    I like to know what software is being installed on my systems, so auto update is off.
     
  12. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    I dont personally use Auto Updates myself - no real reason really. I make sure everyone else in the family does though - saves me a lot of hassle ;)

    It's pretty cool now actually. Somewhere along the line when they improved Windows Update they made it so they can automatically download and install a very critical hotfix (like that recent WMF one) and reboot the PC. Annoying for some, sure, but very handy for others at the same time.
     
  13. Memphis

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jan 2004

    Posts: 12,204

    Location: Inverness

    I have it on, but only on my laptop which I know I can rebuild at a moments notice. Lets me trial anything Microsoft want to throw out before it gets anywhere near my main rig.

    Has worked great so far.
     
  14. Kreeeee

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Jul 2004

    Posts: 43,198

    Location: /* */

    I have them downloaded automatically but not installed.
     
  15. Otacon

    Capodecina

    Joined: 10 Jan 2004

    Posts: 21,923

    Location: All over

    At home, I have it set to only notify. Although it is rather silly, as I know when all the updates are released thanks to WSUS at several clients.

    Still, I'm lazy.
     
  16. Kainz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Dec 2002

    Posts: 21,983

    Location: In a cowfield, London, UK

    Disabled. Only updates I use are the SP's.
     
  17. eidolon

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Oct 2002

    Posts: 13,868

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    I now have auto update set to download but not install because Microsoft seem to think it's funny to auto install and reboot when I leave my PC at work switched on because I have 10 different things open. Grrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!!!
     
  18. Flibster

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 34,333

    Same here - especially when it's been left rendering something or even unpackign a customers 8gb database from CSV to SQL DB...which takes 16 hours...

    Come in the next morning "Windows update installed an update which required a restart of you computer. We've automatically done this becuase we knew it would annoy the **** of you and make you lose 12 hours work..."

    Set to notify at home as well...I bring work home.

    Simon/~Flibster
     
  19. _-J-_

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 836

    Location: Newcastle

    Download and notify both for office and windows. This is for my machine at home and work.
     
  20. FreeStream

    Capodecina

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,375

    Disabled, and any services to do with auto-update are disabled. My system gets updated when it gets reinstalled, thats whenever nvidia can be bothered to release a new chipset driver :D

    Conc