1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How much for clutch?

Discussion in 'Motors' started by Teifiterror, 1 Feb 2006.

1. Teifiterror

Wise Guy

Got an L reg rover 214sli (Yes I Know! im a student!).

Clutch needs replacing and was wondering what sort of price id be looking at to get it done? And how long should it take the garage to do if I take it in?

Thanks

2. moss

Soldato

It should take a garage no more than 4 hours to replace the clutch, quite probably less than that. Price wise £50-£90 for a new clutch depending on the make, labour obviously depends on the garage.

3. Teifiterror

Wise Guy

cheers! will pop in tommorow then.

4. Enfield

Soldato

4 hours?!

I had my clutch done for £125 (2 hours) labour only, (I supplied the clutch - £40 refurbished).

Find your local Mr Clutch.

5. -Mike-

Capodecina

You paid £125 for two hours labour? or £85 for two hours labour? Why would you buy a refurbished clutch?! :confused:

6. Enfield

Soldato

Yes, it's far better than what every other garage quoted me! The 2nd lowest quote I got was £300, and the highest was £350 I think.

The refurbished clutch was £20 cheaper.

7. -Mike-

Capodecina

What were they doing? coating everything they touched in diamond? Maybe I'm well off but for me to have a gearbox and clutch changed my mechanic wants £80 maximum for both jobs. How much was the clutch and for what car?

8. Enfield

Soldato

What are you talking about?

I mentioned the price of the clutch in my first post.

Who said I had a gearbox changed?

I bought the car for £450. The clutch needed changing, so I bought the cheapest one because I was going to sell it, (it being the car).

9. tb2000

Wise Guy

I would probably have charged about 100 quid plus the clutch (+vat). Takes more than 2 hours, that's for sure (the job doesn't always go right, seized bolts, etc always make the job longer), but you could do it in a morning easy.

10. Big Spender