1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

How much is a q6600 worth?

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by whatalegend123, 1 Jun 2010.

  1. whatalegend123

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 Jun 2007

    Posts: 264

    Location: mysterious archipelago

    Im looking at getting ones of these as i wouldnt have to replace anything in my pc to upgrade and it should give a large performance boost,especially in BC2

    just looking around obiously i can pick up a new q8300 for around 115

    what do you think these badboys are worth?90quid or so?
     
  2. Grey [email protected]

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Aug 2008

    Posts: 637

    Location: North East

    They seem to go for around £80ish on ebay, I have a Q6600 G0 I bought from OCuK myself that I will be selling due to the PC dying. I can't sell on here from memory though, I am pretty sure the limit is 100 posts :)
     
  3. lcg

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Apr 2009

    Posts: 1,977

    Location: London

    In the MM (Member's Market) Q6600 G0 CPUs seem to go for around £80. I wouldn't pay more than £80 for one. It's a better CPU than the Q8300 as it can be overclocked higher as it has a higher multiplier. The Q6600 is much better value for money.

    You need to have at least 250 posts to have MM access (you also need to be signed up for at least 90 days, but you meet that requirement). The only section on this forum where you are allowed to sell things is the MM.
     
    Last edited: 1 Jun 2010
  4. spirits247

    Hitman

    Joined: 29 Jan 2007

    Posts: 725

    Q6600 do seem like the best value 775 quad. Not all of them overclock well however - later releases with 1.325 VID might struggle past 3.2Ghz.
     
  5. whatalegend123

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 Jun 2007

    Posts: 264

    Location: mysterious archipelago

    Yer 80 seems liks a responible price
    thanks,i better get spamming some more before i can get in there ;)
     
  6. Grey [email protected]

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Aug 2008

    Posts: 637

    Location: North East

    Thanks for clearing that up :)

    Yeah there are a few versions of them knocking about, I went for the ones from OCuK that say they clock to 3.2Ghz, Got it to 3GHz for an hour or so as the shuttle was belting out heat so it just sat at stock speeds for the last 18 months xD
     
  7. whatalegend123

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 Jun 2007

    Posts: 264

    Location: mysterious archipelago

    how can you tell the difference between the newer and the older ones?even still at 3.2 i would notice huge performance gains on my 2180 would i not?
     
  8. Grey [email protected]

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Aug 2008

    Posts: 637

    Location: North East

    That's all I got out of mine as the shuttle was running to hot so never bothered with clocking. You see people with these things to 3.6GHz+ on air. Just a shame my PC died on me, not got the money to throw at another gaming rig for the foreseeable future. The G0 stepping Q6600's are generally the ones that clock high so look out for those versions first :) Even at stock these chips aren't sluggish.
     
  9. Guest2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 May 2009

    Posts: 17,074

    A low VID G0 is what you are looking for. Assk for the VID from Coretemp when CPU is under full load and without speedstep etc running.

    Highest VID is 1.350, I have recently had one of these stable at 3.4ghz on H50 cooling. (1.48volts)

    At the moment I am running a 1.3125 VID and its prime stable at 3.6ghz, 1.46volts

    Look for one around 1.280, 1.265 or lower and you are almost guaranteed 3.6ghz with half decent cooling.

    Keep in mind Vdroop on your motherboard, I set 1.5650 volts in bios and its actually 1.48volts

    edit - A 1.350 vid is worth about £65. 1.265 is worth around £85, lower vid is higher value
     
    Last edited: 1 Jun 2010
  10. momo56

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Jul 2009

    Posts: 2,238

    You reckon lapped q6600's would have a higher or lower value?
     
  11. Guest2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 May 2009

    Posts: 17,074

    I would say lower. You can always lap a cpu if you want, you can't un-lap it!

    Saying this I see no problem with buying lapped, they run cooler and save you the job of doing it and buying the sandpaper. If you do/have lapped it then maybe provide some screenshots of it reaching a certain overclock.
     
  12. MrMoses

    Gangster

    Joined: 23 Dec 2008

    Posts: 314

    Location: UK

    do not buy from ebay! unless brand new
    do not buy lapped cpu,this is sign the cpu has been meticulously overvolted probably degraded

    get a new q9550 its worth it warranty and all
     
  13. momo56

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Jul 2009

    Posts: 2,238

    lol im thinking of selling my lapped q6600 :p heres hoping theres someone out there dumb enough to pay a "premium" :p
     
  14. Guest2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 May 2009

    Posts: 17,074

    Why not buy from ebay? (unless they have 0 or negative feedback) Ive never had any problems buying second hand computer parts from ebay

    I have bought lapped from here, its currently running fine at 3.6ghz, 1.5v all the time. Q6600s are known to withstand massive amounts of volts anyway, I read of someone giving theirs 1.70 by mistake and it was fine.

    momo - I sold my lapped one recently with a Scythe heatsink for £96 inc. It lasted 2 days on ebay before someone bought it
     
  15. deuse

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Jul 2007

    Posts: 23,195

    Location: Solihull-Florida

    Just get a Q9550 it runs cooler then the Q6600.
     
  16. whatalegend123

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 Jun 2007

    Posts: 264

    Location: mysterious archipelago

    just seen that e8400 are a similar price,any benefit going down that route?
     
  17. Draeger

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Feb 2004

    Posts: 12,890

    Location: Falkirk, Scotland

    Bought a Q6600 Go with a VID of 1.3000v, lapped, last month from the MM for £70 inc. Running at 3.2Ghz just now with excellent temps.

    Replaced my [email protected] and I have to say the Quad cores appear to have made a fair difference to speed and performance of my system. Well worth the investment. :cool:

    Vdroop on my P5K is annoying though but not unsurmountable.
     
  18. Sukh

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Jan 2007

    Posts: 3,583

    Location: Chelsea

    I would have thought a Q6600 with a guaranteed overclock to 3.6-3.8Ghz would be worth about 95 notes.
     
  19. as905

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 May 2009

    Posts: 577

    mine has been overlapped to make the heatsink more effective ([email protected] 1.3v/1.28v while gaming) & ebay is fine as long as you buy from people with 100% feedback.
     
  20. loaky

    Gangster

    Joined: 6 Feb 2010

    Posts: 138

    I suppose it's like buying anything from ebay, keep your wits about you and check they do a returns policy should it not be upto scratch.