1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

how to go sli???

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Electroshadow, 23 Sep 2009.

  1. Electroshadow

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Dec 2006

    Posts: 1,331

    hi

    im thinking of going SLI. My question is do i need to buy the same graphics card as the one i have or can it be a different brand but must have the same specs????


    a little confused....current card is

    Gainward GTX 280
     
  2. Nick1881

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 4 Feb 2007

    Posts: 9,595

    Location: Nuneaton, UK

    I'm sure I heard you can use a different card, such as a GTX 260.

    I asked about adding a 285 to my 280 and someone said I might have to flash the 285 with 280 firmware or something.

    I'm thinking about going SLI soon too.
     
  3. unknownsock

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Mar 2009

    Posts: 1,691

    Location: Leeds, UK

    Well in X-fire i had a sapphire toxic, and a HIS referenced design 4870.
    So i would presume this should work like SLI too.
     
  4. jrwagh333

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Aug 2008

    Posts: 5,056

    As far as i know ATI can crossfire a mix of 4890/4870/4850 etc
    But Nvidia you can only SLI a 260 with a 260... a 280 with a 280 etc.
    the 260s must be both 192 cores of both 216's... Also you can SLI a 280 with a 285
     
  5. HazardO

    Underboss

    Joined: 16 Jun 2009

    Posts: 7,623

    Location: Cambridge

    I'd recomend going for the same spec, the problem is the GTX280 isn't available anymore, but I expect there are plenty knocking about at a reasonable price second hand.
     
  6. rufeo

    Associate

    Joined: 12 Sep 2008

    Posts: 5

    It doesn't need to be the same spec but definitely has to be the same card i.e. 280 and 280 or 275 and 275. If one of the cards is of a higher spec then it'll run at the lower card's spec iirc.
     
  7. brett8899

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Sep 2009

    Posts: 13

    exact same model even same brand cards
     
  8. Nick1881

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 4 Feb 2007

    Posts: 9,595

    Location: Nuneaton, UK

    Sorry but that is wrong, they don't need to be the same brand.
     
  9. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Oct 2006

    Posts: 72,586

    They need to be the same core... tho I think you can SLI a 192 SP 260 with a 216 SP 260 but thats another story...

    Also while there are ways to SLI a 260GTX with a 280GTX you wouldn't want to as the performance difference is enough that you could induce "microstutter".

    So essentially your gonna have to source another 280GTX of any brand.
     
  10. jamiehavok

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Dec 2008

    Posts: 1,402

    Has anyone actually tried this - dont you need to flas the firmware of the 285 to that of a 280 or vice versa?
     
  11. Dark_Angel

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 May 2005

    Posts: 12,637

    Wrong as far as I know.

    You can even get an overclocked version of the card - but it will scale to the speed of the slower card.

    It just has to be the same core type basically.
     
  12. biuro74

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Feb 2009

    Posts: 1,217

    Hi,

    First of all, you must check your mobo if it supports SLI. Not every i5/i7 mobo supports it.

    Second - you must have appropriate PSU for it. Wattage is not everything you need, there's amperage for 12V lines, too - it must me sufficient, so look at label on your PSU and confront it with your graphic card's box.

    And now - you can have some work to do, or just SLI :) If you want just "plug and play" ;-) so look for *exactly* the same card model - on Ebay, on clearance lines, newspaper ads etc.
    This gives you 100% that SLI will work as you wish.
    99,99% is the same core, but different model, brand, revision, or frequencies. Personally I was SLIing 2 different 7600GT and 8800GS - and it worked fine, adjusting faster card to slower's speed.
    The special case is two revisions of the same cores (like GTX280 vs GTX 285) - I'm not sure if it works straight way, but it might work when you flash BIOS in one of them - drivers would see the same cores then, so SLI might be enabled.
    The worst is different cores - some guys tried to SLI 7600GT and 7900GS - it worked, but flashing was needed. But I'm in doubt why to flash BIOS to make a card much weaker :)