1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to update HTC HERO

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones & Tablets' started by imamosher, 26 Jun 2010.

  1. imamosher

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 16 Feb 2010

    Posts: 433

    Location: Hythe South East

    Im suffering with lag on my hero and from what ive read there is an update that can help with this but I have no idea how to go about doing the update, are updates from HTC automatic or do you have to do them yourself?

    thanks

    *has anyone had the prompt for the 2.1 update yet?
     
    Last edited: 26 Jun 2010
  2. Andre

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Feb 2003

    Posts: 2,659

    Location: Deep dark hole

    All the help you could possible need (and probably a lot more!) can be had in Here
     
  3. hornett

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Jan 2005

    Posts: 963

    Location: Bridgend

  4. imamosher

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 16 Feb 2010

    Posts: 433

    Location: Hythe South East

    thanks, once I have downloaded the update any idea how I install it? Im on orange aswell. thanks

    Im presuming its not just a click and install thing.
     
  5. hornett

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Jan 2005

    Posts: 963

    Location: Bridgend

    Guide is on that page. Step 3. Installation Instructions

    But you need your phone connected to the PC then just run the software once you have downloaded it. It wipes everything so backup your contacts before you do it.
     
  6. imamosher

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 16 Feb 2010

    Posts: 433

    Location: Hythe South East

    keep getting a USB error 170 I can synch my contacts etc so the phone does connect to the pc hoever this error keeps coming up whenever i try to upgrade the rom?
     
  7. hornett

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Jan 2005

    Posts: 963

    Location: Bridgend

    No idea why you are getting that error but googling it looks like you are not alone, most likely going to be your PC mind so if you have another you can do it on try that.

    I updated mine on my works PC that is running XP and it worked fine
     
  8. imamosher

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 16 Feb 2010

    Posts: 433

    Location: Hythe South East

    im going to have to try this on a different OS having no luck on 7 64bit. frustrating!
     
  9. Richiev4

    Hitman

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 884

    Location: Swindon

    HTC Hero 2.1 update-1 now available, have just downloaded and installed to my phone in the last 30 mins - all looks good

    Just go to settings - about phone - updates - and tap check now.

    Rich
     
  10. DaZzZa

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Dec 2002

    Posts: 2,618

    Location: Peterlee

    mosher you need to get in touch. Check your email or mail me your phone number
     
  11. imamosher

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 16 Feb 2010

    Posts: 433

    Location: Hythe South East

    @dazzza I have emailed you.

    I have no update option under "about phone"?

    Strange
     
  12. warren_1979

    Mobster

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 2,701

    Not on Orange though yet. Could be a few weeks before Orange roll out 2.1 :mad:
     
  13. Richiev4

    Hitman

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 884

    Location: Swindon

    I shold have said- I have a Vanilla Hero, I guess the networks will take a little longer!!