1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

HTPC card,big screen

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by mrteabag, 6 Mar 2010.

  1. mrteabag

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Jun 2009

    Posts: 811

    Location: Ireland

    Need a gpu for a htpc.
    Im a bit worried about 1080p on a 55" led tv.It will be playing blu ray rips,blu rays and dvd's.
    I would like to spend >70 if possible.
    Its going in this http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CA-161-LL so i dont think size is a problem.I was reading somewhere it canfit a 5870 lol.
    Does the big tv matter?
     
  2. straxusii

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 May 2003

    Posts: 4,886

    Nvidia GT220 with coreavc, size of the tv is irrelevant its all about the res.

    MPC home cinema edition.
     
    Last edited: 6 Mar 2010
  3. mrteabag

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Jun 2009

    Posts: 811

    Location: Ireland

    Thanks for the quick reply.

    Planning on using Media Center with shark007 codecs but if mpc can be used with media center i will use that :)
     
  4. Baboonanza

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Nov 2009

    Posts: 1,099

    Location: London

    I think you'd be better off with a 5450 personally. Price is the same but you get Dolby TrueSound passthrough that way. Should be very cool and quiet, I think there are already passive versions about.

    Are you sure you need a GPU though? What integrated graphics do you have? I assume you're only playing video?

    The Shark codec pack looks good, it should give you full DXVA support where available. It's what I'd use if I was using Media Center insted of MediaPortal. MPC is a different video player, useful to have but it doesn't integrate with WMC in any way. The Shark codec may even contain the MPC codecs already.
     
  5. straxusii

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 May 2003

    Posts: 4,886

    No way, CoreAVC and cuda is the only 100% way to decode all h264 in hardware
     
  6. RavenXXX2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Oct 2007

    Posts: 18,631

    Location: North West

    Meh, be no difference in picture quality , both will drop CPU utilization down to 10% and below, so for the audio I would go ATI.
     
  7. straxusii

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 May 2003

    Posts: 4,886

    DXVA with ATI does not decode all h264 streams in hardware, cuda + coreavc does.
     
  8. mrteabag

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Jun 2009

    Posts: 811

    Location: Ireland

    So the nvidia card?
     
  9. fornowagain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 3 Nov 2004

    Posts: 9,836

    Location: UK

    I'd go for the ATi just to get the TrueHD. Coreavc is over rated imo, stopped using it awhile back. Reasonable cpu can handle most h264 streams and you can't easily get the TrueHD to an amp without the ATi. I currently use a 9600GT, more than likely a 5450 will be the replacement.
     
  10. straxusii

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 May 2003

    Posts: 4,886

    It is the only solution to guarantee 100% decoding of all h264 streams, ATI don't have an answer to that at the moment. But I agree if you have a decent CPU then it will be able to handle all the decoding anyway. By decent I would say a 3Ghz core 2 duo or pretty much any intel quad.
     
  11. mrteabag

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Jun 2009

    Posts: 811

    Location: Ireland

    K,thanks lads.Will get the 5450

    Will it fit in the antec micro fusion?The card is low profile but i dont know if the bracket is
     
    Last edited: 7 Mar 2010
  12. boosfuk

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Nov 2002

    Posts: 707

    Location: Warwickshire

    My Sapphire 5450 came with both sized brackets so you should be fine. Also I've used both a 5450 and GT220 for HTPC use and there really is no visible difference.
     
  13. mrteabag

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Jun 2009

    Posts: 811

    Location: Ireland

    Thanks mate