i3-8100 & GTX1060 Build Spec & Advice

Associate
Hi,

I have never built a PC before and know very little about gaming. My son will be 14 soon and I'd like to buy all the components necessary to build a machine and give them to him for his birthday - we can then build it together. He currently uses an HP gaming laptop (i5-6300HQ & GTX950M) and mostly plays Fortnight, Overwatch etc.

I spent all day yesterday watching you-tube and reading articles on building a PC. I'm thinking of the following base components:
i3-8100 (latest socket so we can upgrade the CPU in years to come)
GTX1060
500GB SSD
8GB Ram
Corsair 570X case and (for kerb appeal and upgradeability)
We already have a budget full HD monitor which he currently uses with his current laptop.

My key questions are:
1. Does this base spec seem in balance?
2. What specific Motherboard should I use? What are the factors here?
3. How does one decide between all the various GTX1060 brands out there? e.g. a Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX1060 6GB is £209 but you can pay much more for other GTX1060 6GB cards...
4.Will this be considerably faster than his current laptop?
5. It seems to me that if we go slowly and carefully we should be able to build a PC together - am I missing something here?

I really appreciate any advice on any of these points.

Thanks very much indeed!

Soldato
Hi, welcome to the forum.

1. Does this base spec seem in balance?

Hard to say without knowing the budget for it. My guess is no because a £200 case is insane for what the budget might be, given the other parts. Cases far less than that (without going budget all the way) are just as upgradable, perhaps more so in some instances, and look nice too.

i3-8100 (latest socket so we can upgrade the CPU in years to come)

2. What specific Motherboard should I use? What are the factors here?