i5 2500k overclock on asus P8Z77-v LX

Associate
Newbie here guys, needing some help.
As per thread title.
Tried using the fully auto tool first. Gave 4.3 GHz and upped base freq too. Temps were in mid 80s using Prime95.
Found a youtube guide for manually doing 4.5GHz. Voltage manually set to 1.35, bclk 100. Tried an IBT and temps got up to 95 on a 10x cycle on high, but it didn't crash and completed test.
I am a bit concerned about those temps though. I think max Vcore was just over 1.4.

Would appreciate some help setting this up. 4.3 or ideally 4.5 would be good.
My cooler is an Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 pro Rev2.
8Gb DDR3, Win10.
Thanks
Iain

Soldato
What level of load line calibration (LLC) are you using?

If you run CPU-Z alongside IBT you'll notice the voltage fluctuates at 100% load. This may cause instability if 1.3v is between stable and crashing.

I would recommend High or Ultra High LLC which may end up peaking above 1.3v, but you can reduce this by dropping your manual voltage slightly.

1.4v on air is pretty much a no go. I used to own a 2700k which I ran at 1.368v for 4.8GHz but that was under custom water. Water limit is around 1.425v, anything above becomes almost impossible to cool efficiently.

Associate
OP
Thanks for replying.
Had LLC set to extreme.
Found a good video on YT which has helped me understand what to do and should apply to oc's generally. Got a better grasp of things now.
I'll try from scratch tonight & report back. 4.5 would be a good result.
Cheers
Iain

Soldato
No problem. If you stick to manual voltage for now, try and find stability around 4.5 1.35v using ultra high LLC.

Your cooler seems to hold up quite well considering, but if you're going to be using this for extended periods of time you'll probably want to look for an upgrade.

Associate
OP
Not had opportunity tonight, too busy watching that vid and getting my head round the basics.:(
Will start voltage low and increase multiplier gradually etc and see where I get to.