1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I5 750 in for a ride?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by reygjabla, 22 Oct 2009.

  1. reygjabla

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Mar 2009

    Posts: 1,653

    Location: London

    Source

    and, the upcoming I3 & I5's seems to have higher stock speed than it's present counterparts.:D

    •Core i3 530 -2.93 GHz
    •Core i3 540 -3.06 GHz
    •Core i5 650 -3.20 GHz, with Turbo Boost speed of 3.43 GHz
    •Core i5 660 -3.33 GHz, with Turbo Boost speed of 3.60 GHz
    •Core i5 670 -3.43 GHz, with Turbo Boost speed of 3.73 GHz
     
  2. maddness

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,101

    Location: Intel HQ

    damn intel for keeping us upgrading

    ~4ghz @ ~0.8v not bad, hope these dont perform like low end celerons :p
     
  3. reygjabla

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Mar 2009

    Posts: 1,653

    Location: London

    Doesn't look like upgrading to me. "Downgrading" would be more appropriate.:D Quite confusing though.:rolleyes:
     
  4. [timko]

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,792

    I'm pretty sure there are going to be a few that skip the quoted text and look purely at the clock speeds, for their benefit...

    These are dual core.

    I don't think anyone that has an i750/i860 around 4Ghz is going to regret their early purchase by the time these dual core variants come out :)
     
  5. reflux

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Nov 2007

    Posts: 12,835

    Location: Enfield

    +1 just what I was about to put.
     
  6. reygjabla

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Mar 2009

    Posts: 1,653

    Location: London

    The I5 variant has HT and Turbo if you noticed.:D
     
  7. Ducky Spud

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Feb 2009

    Posts: 1,720

    Location: Teesside

    I would probably still consider one of those over my 750. Just game on my PC really, rarely do anything else which will push it and in my experience I higher clocked dual core tends to out perform a slower quad core. Still, will wait and see actual results when it is released, these are engineering samples, the results arent going to be that good for the majority of chips when theyre released :(
     
  8. Cesar67

    Hitman

    Joined: 30 Dec 2008

    Posts: 660

    Location: SCOTLAND

    Any speculative prices for these chips ?
     
  9. reygjabla

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Mar 2009

    Posts: 1,653

    Location: London

    Initial pricing qoute.

    Source
     
  10. Ducky Spud

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Feb 2009

    Posts: 1,720

    Location: Teesside

    I imagine they will be replacing the E8400, E8500 and E8600 maybe? So similary to those would be my guess, around £120, £140 and £190. Though I could just have it completely wrong :p haha
     
  11. maddness

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,101

    Location: Intel HQ

    i reckon the prices will be high, pretty much the above

    intel will be pushing the fact that these are dual core but at higher clock speeds, whereas quads are lower speeds but 4 cores
     
  12. reygjabla

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Mar 2009

    Posts: 1,653

    Location: London

    Could be one reason though why they're pushing present stocks with giveaways.:D
    Dual core with HT and Turbo with lower TDP, what else can you ask for if you're just gaming?
     
    Last edited: 22 Oct 2009
  13. maddness

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,101

    Location: Intel HQ

    wonder if highly clocked duallys will give quads a run like in the previous gen

    5ghz dually on air would be good for gaming i'd imagine :p
     
  14. Cesar67

    Hitman

    Joined: 30 Dec 2008

    Posts: 660

    Location: SCOTLAND

    You wont be able to game fast enough to keep up with that :D
     
  15. reygjabla

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Mar 2009

    Posts: 1,653

    Location: London

    You don't need to maximise your usage, otherwise, your system will start to lag. It just nice to know your system has the power in case you need it, rather than knowing, your system does'nt have enough power when the need comes, leaving you no other options but to upgrade.:)