1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

i5 and Ram overclocking, latency or frequency?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Danjos, 28 Sep 2009.

  1. Danjos

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Nov 2002

    Posts: 214

    hi all

    (i5, gigabyte p55ud3, corsair 12800 2x2gb)

    i went for cheap corsair 1600mhz CAS9 ram. im wondering if its best to run at 1600mhz (200 2:8) or maybe drop to 1200mhz and tighter timings?

    havent had much time to play so not actually sure how much(if any) i can improve timings at 1600.
     
  2. PaulyD

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Mar 2008

    Posts: 4,635

    Location: High Wycombe

    Intels are better for higher speeds and don't mind as much for slacker timings, AMD generally are the oppersite and prefer tight timings.

    Try get the best of both worlds with your RAM clocking though :)
     
  3. Danjos

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Nov 2002

    Posts: 214

    ok thanks, i'll have a tinker :)

    didnt like 1600 cas7, will do 1200cas6 tho.

    im trying to get the most out of gta4.
     
  4. Danjos

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Nov 2002

    Posts: 214

    cant even run at 1600 with slack timings, just will not run at 1600 or above.

    duff ram?
     
  5. Ducky Spud

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Feb 2009

    Posts: 1,720

    Location: Teesside

    Dont know if this is the problem (and it probably isnt), but on OCUK's page for the UD3 it says:

    - Memory: 4x DDR3 DIMM 2200 / 1333 / 1066 / 800 MHz

    No 1600 mentioned but most other mobos do list it. Doesnt normally effect it, I know Ive had my RAM in my 775 system running at all sorts of speeds and not cause problems, but maybe there is some reason that board wont run it?
     
  6. johnerz

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Jan 2009

    Posts: 406

    Location: Chippenham

    try for cas 5, that will make a difference over cas 7 on benchmarks at least :)
     
  7. Danjos

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Nov 2002

    Posts: 214

    thanks guys. Ive never had ram that wont run at stock speeds, even unbranded cheapo stuff usually overclocks a little, and with a name like 'dominator' you'd at least expect stock performance !
    cant help thinking that maybe im doing something wrong..

    i did notice the ram said 1.8v on it. even so, i gave it 1.8v and it still didnt run stock.

    ive left it at 19x215 for now. so my 1600 ram is at a whopping 1290mhz.
    happy with the cpu though.
    think i will just have to buy some new ram.
     
  8. Danjos

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Nov 2002

    Posts: 214

    hmm, i think i bought the wrong ram, the place i bought it listed it as 12800C9 1600MHz, it didnt say it was 1.8v rated, i didnt realise there were so many types of ddr3, just assumed it would work with i5.
    But i reckon i need the 1.6v stuff.

    anyway, ordered some g.skill, prblem solved
     
  9. faugusztin

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Sep 2009

    Posts: 194

    Just for Ducky Spud, Gigabyte P55-UDx have no problems with DDR3-1600. Actually, all i did with my i5 750 + Corsair Dominator 1600MHz CL8 1.65V was going to BIOS, memory settings, load XMP profile, then go to CPU page, change the multiplier back to 20 and turn Turbo mode on.
    Result = RAM runs at 1600MHz CL8 (160x10), CPU runs at 160x20 = 3.2GHz (3.36GHz with +1 turbo).

    The key to buy 1.65V kits as Danjos said.
     
  10. Ducky Spud

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Feb 2009

    Posts: 1,720

    Location: Teesside

    Yea, didnt think that would be it, but just thought it a bit wierd that its not listed on the page :confused:

    But yea, 1.8v is for last generation of boards that could run DDR3 such as the X48 boards. i5 is 1.65v. See if you can return your RAM or just pop it up for sale somewhere, probably still get a good price for it
     
  11. breeza

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 Jun 2006

    Posts: 216

    Check out the corsair website for compatibility of their modules with 1156 boards.