1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

i5 PSU Confusion

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by NamelessOne, 11 Mar 2010.

  1. NamelessOne

    Associate

    Joined: 11 Sep 2008

    Posts: 16

    I have been looking at some i5 motherboards for a friend's new build and I noticed all the Mobo's I find for i5's all have 24+8 ATX pins.
    However, the only PSU's I can find are 20+4's. Would it be possible to use a 20+4 for the 24+8 ATX motherboards? If not, can someone spec me a PSU to go with this?.
     
  2. RJC

    Don

    Joined: 29 May 2005

    Posts: 28,848

    Location: Kent

    What model is your current PSU?

    Some of the models I have below, but some will depend on rest if your spec.

    Corsair 650w
    Corsair 400w
    OCZ
     
  3. Marvin

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Nov 2009

    Posts: 3,872

    Location: Maidstone, Kent

    I think you need to look at the specs more closely. The 20+4pin usually refers to the fact that the PSU is backwards compatible with older motherboards with the 20 pin design, whilst still compatable with new designs (the 4-pin splits off the 20 pin, giving either 20 pins, or 24 pins - which is what you want).

    As for the 8 pin, just make sure the PSU has an 'EPS12V 8 pin' connector.

    Here's an example: OCZ 700W PSU

    Particularly this bit:
    This means you have the 24 pin motherboard connector (the main one), and the EPS12V 8 pin connector - which is for the CPU power. Ergo, this will work.
     
  4. NamelessOne

    Associate

    Joined: 11 Sep 2008

    Posts: 16

    Ah, overlooked those specs. I did not realise that 20+4 was just quoting backwards compatibility with older standards. Thanks for the info!

    So I assume if the specs say:
    1 x 20+4 motherboard connector
    1 x 4pin CPU connector

    then I can use both +4's to make a +8?
     
    Last edited: 11 Mar 2010
  5. Alex h

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Jun 2009

    Posts: 5,503

    Location: Lost

    yes thats correct
     
  6. thingemajib

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Feb 2009

    Posts: 2,466

    Location: Behind you

    close enough.

    some psu's will have an 8pin connector that splits into two fours, others will have an 8pin AND a 4 pin connector, and you just plug one in and leave the other alone.
     
  7. Leezy

    Hitman

    Joined: 9 Dec 2007

    Posts: 773

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    Don't mistake a CPU 8 pin (4+4) with PCIE 8 pin (full 8 or 6 + 2).

    the CPU one on mine says CPU 1 and CPU 2 on each halfs.